The companions listed below consist of essays discussing many aspects of American Gothic culture. You can use them in the following ways:
l. Scroll down the table of contents to find chapters about your general topic, e.g., video games.
2. Check the index to find themes and titles of your exhibits, e.g., the television series, Lost.
3. Find the companion's search box and type in keywords.
4. Following an essay you will find a bibliography or further reading or works cited.
The Cambridge Companion to American Gothic by The Cambridge Companion to American Gothic offers an accessible overview to both the breadth and depth of the American Gothic tradition. This subgenre features works from many of America's best-known authors: Edgar Allan Poe, Toni Morrison, Stephen King, Anne Rice, Henry James, Edith Wharton, William Faulkner, and Flannery O'Connor. Authored by leading experts in the field, the introduction and sixteen chapters explore the American Gothic chronologically, in relation to different social groups, in connection with different geographic regions, and in different media, including children's literature, poetry, drama, film, television, and gaming. This Companion provides a rich and thorough analysis of the American Gothic tradition from a twenty-first-century standpoint, and will be a key resource undergraduates, graduate students, and professional researchers interested in this topic.
Publication Date: 2017
A Companion to American Gothic (Blackwell) by A Companion to American Gothic features a collection of original essays that explore America's gothic literary tradition. The largest collection of essays in the field of American Gothic Contributions from a wide variety of scholars from around the world The most complete coverage of theory, major authors, popular culture and non-print media available
Publication Date: 2014
A New Companion to the Gothic (Blackwell) by The thoroughly expanded and updated New Companion to the Gothic, provides a series of stimulating insights into Gothic writing, its history and genealogy. The addition of 12 new essays and a section on 'Global Gothic' reflects the direction Gothic criticism has taken over the last decade. Many of the original essays have been revised to reflect current debates Offers comprehensive coverage of criticism of the Gothic and of the various theoretical approaches it has inspired and spawned Features important and original essays by leading scholars in the field The editor is widely recognized as the founder of modern criticism of the Gothic
Location: Also in print: Mugar Stacks PR830.T3 C653 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Women and the Gothic: An Edinburgh Companion by A re-assessment of the Gothic in relation to the female, the 'feminine', feminism and post-feminism This collection of newly commissioned essays brings together major scholars in the field of Gothic studies in order to re-think the topic of 'Women and the Gothic'. The 14 chapters in this volume engage with debates about 'Female Gothic' from the 1970s and '80s, through second wave feminism, theorisations of gender and a long interrogation of the 'women' category as well as with the problematics of post-feminism, now itself being interrogated by a younger generation of women. The contributors explore Gothic works - from established classics to recent films and novels - from feminist and post-feminist perspectives. The result is a lively book that combines rigorous close readings with elegant use of theory in order to question some ingrained assumptions about women, the Gothic and identity. Key Features Revitalises the long-running debate about women, the Gothic and identity Engages with the political agendas of feminism and post-feminism Prioritises the concerns of woman as reader, author and critic Offers fresh readings of both classic and recent Gothic works
Publication Date: 2016
The Edinburgh Companion to Gothic and the Arts by Provides new definitions of the Gothic in a variety of artistic contexts Explores a range of Gothic from architecture through literature to music and the technological arts Provides an opportunity to hear new thinking from established scholars as well as showcasing work by new scholars Highlights new definitions of the Gothic from a wide variety of perspectives The Gothic in all its artistic forms and ramifications is traced from the medieval to the twenty-first century. From architecture, painting and sculpture through music, ballet, opera and dance to installation art and the graphic novel, each of the 33 chapters reflects on and weighs in on the ways in which the Gothic is taken up in the art forms and modes under examination. An Introduction discusses Gothic as a changing cultural form across the centuries with deep psychological roots. This is followed by sections on: architectural arts; the visual arts; music and the performance arts; the literary arts; and media and cultural arts.
Publication Date: 2019
Selected topic chapters
"Gothic in Film," in New Companion to the Gothic, Chap. 17, pp. 239--251.
"Gothic in Other Media[television, video games]," in A Companion to American Gothic, Chap. 36, pp. 463--516.
"Genre and Media," in Cambridge Companion to American Gothic, Part III, pp. 169-242.
"American Gothic Television," in American Gothic Culture: an Edinburgh companion, Chap. 7, pp. 120-144.
"Doppelgamers: Video Games and Gothic Choice," in American Gothic Culture: an Edinburgh companion, Chap. 9, pp. 166-184.