Reference Books
Tunisia entry in Africa: an Encyclopedia of Culture and Society [3 Volumes] by
These volumes offer a one-stop resource for researching the lives, customs, and cultures of Africa's nations and peoples. * Supplies entries that are more extensive than in most comparable encyclopedic works * Arranges content alphabetically by country, then by topic, with suggestions for further reading following each * Includes contributions from numerous eminent scholars of African history * Provides a clear African voice via entries from scholars from the African continent
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2015-12-31
Historical Dictionary of Tunisia by
Containing an updated chronology, additional entries, and an enlarged bibliography, this second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Tunisia offers interested historians the information they need for continued research into this unique African nation. As a link between Arab and African worlds and the European community, this small country has managed to maintain a stable position in the ever-shifting North African political climate under the sure leadership of Habib Bourguiba and Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the period from the introduction of Islam in the seventh century A.D. to the present, but the inclusion of materials from the Carthagian and Roman eras acknowledges the area's rich pre-Islamic heritage. Each entry of the original edition has been reviewed to ensure accuracy and, where appropriate, revised to take the most recent scholarship and statistical data into account. These updates are supplemented by many new entries, so that the dictionary contains the most up-to-date information available on such aspects of contemporary Tunisia as its education system, economy, relations with other countries, social structure, and tourist industry. An extensive bibliography, arranged chronologically and topically, lists European-language books and periodicals on Tunisia. Contains a chronology, maps, and list of rulers from 800-1996. This edition is a timely, comprehensive and definitive reference work on a country that has, for centuries, stood at the crossroads of European and Islamic worlds. Reviews of the previous edition: "A valuable addition to the comparatively small collection of reference works about Tunisia..This is a useful, valuable and needed addition..." --CHOICE ..".highly recommended for university and research collections." --AFRICAN STUDIES REVIEW "This ... volume is a gold mine for the general and historically oriented reader or researcher on Tunisia." --MESA BULLETIN
Location: Mugar Library DT244 .P47 1997ISBN: 9780810832862Publication Date: 1997-08-14
Middle East and North Africa by
This volume, the second in the World Boundaries series, brings together analyses of a region which, from colonial times to the present, has seen great territorial change.
Location: Mugar Library DS43 .F49ISBN: 0415088399Publication Date: 2016+
Selected Online Sources
- AfroBarometer"Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa."
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies