Finding Books in the Library
Click on the book covers to access information about them.
Browsing for works on pre-colonial Africa in the BU Library Search (BULS):
Africa-- Description and travel -- Early works to 1800
Archaeology and history -- Africa
Search for Open Access resources in the BU Libraries: (Precolonial OR Pre-Colonial) Africa
Note: When looking at a library record in BU Library Search, use the "Virtual Browse" feature at the bottom of the window to see titles shelved next to the book you are looking at; it is a good way to find similar works.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa by
A Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Book. Explore the dynamics of precolonial African life in this comprehensive encyclopedia. An authoritative text with state of the art summaries, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa will prove to be a benchmark volume for the field. Moreover, a bibliography for each article guides readers with further research. With more than 100 articles written by leading scholars, extensive maps, photos, and figures, the Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa is essential reading for all students, professionals, and avocational readers of African archaeology, history, linguistics, and culture.
ISBN: 0761989021Publication Date: 1997-08-20
The a to Z of Pre-Colonial Africa
The Heart of Darkness, this is the image that most in the West hold of pre-colonial Africa. Joseph Conrad's description of a continent lacking in civilization, commerce, and Christianity is familiar to many readers. Historians have been working to dispel this notion before since the institution of African independence after World War II. The A to Z of Pre-Colonial Africa seeks to familiarize the reader with pre-colonial Africa, the Africa that began with the migrations of the Bantu from their homeland in 500 B.C. and ended with European control in the 19th century, revealing the culture, events, achievement and rulers of Africa from this time.
ISBN: 0810875802Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of African History by
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African Historyis a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive three volume Encyclopediais the first reference of this scale and scope. Also includes 99 maps.
ISBN: 1579582451Publication Date: 2004-11-22
African Kingdoms: an Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations by
This history-rich volume details the sociopolitical, economic, and artistic aspects of African kingdoms from the earliest times to the second half of the 19th century. * Provides relevant perspective on globalization in the pre-modern era, documenting how humans across time and places have shared various components of custom ranging from food, language, and music to religion and spirituality * Supports Common Core standards * Includes primary documents for enhancing critical thinking and research skills * Features cross references and suggestions for further reading * Highlights key facts and interesting trivia through illuminating sidebars
ISBN: 9781610695800Publication Date: 2017-08-24
A Guide to Original Sources for Precolonial Western Africa Published in European Languages by ISBN: 9780942615012Publication Date: 1987-06-01
- "African Historical Dictionary Series" " The books are written by experts in the area or country that is covered. All contain well-written brief histories of the country and chronologies that, though they cover historical time periods, heavily feature more recent events. Brief A-Z entries cover the main people, politics, social issues, foreign affairs, institutions, and policies that make the country unique. Extensive bibliographies are divided into several general subject areas. -Booklist" --excerpt from Rowman & Littlefield's website.
- World Bibliographical Series Country specific bibliographies comprising annotated entries on works dealing with history, geography, economy and politics, culture and social organisation. **Note that these are a little old now, so please keep this in mind as you research.
- "Culture and Customs of Africa" Series Content covered in these titles includes: The geography and history -- Religion -- Literature, academics, and media -- Art and architecture -- Cuisine and traditional dress -- Family and gender -- Social customs and lifestyle -- Music, dance, and sports.
Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
Head, African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm