Street Corner Society: the Social Structure of an Italian Slum, in eHRAF World Cultures"Street Corner Society" is considered by many social scientists as a classic in the sociological literature. The original monograph, based on field work in 1936-1940, and published in 1943, has been updated with new material in subsequent new editions of the book in 1955, 1981, and the fourth, or fiftieth anniversary, edition in 1993. This is a study of the social structure of what Whyte refers to as "street corner society" (young male gangs, cliques and clubs) living in the inner city area of Boston's north end; an area inhabited almost exclusively by Italian immigrants and their children -- the area referred to in the text as "Cornerville"
The Italian American Experience: An Encyclopedia. 2000.This encyclopedia, the first book of its kind, presents the totality of the Italian American experience. The coverage includes such broad topics as the influence of Italian Americans on politics and society and their contributions to art and to the development of Catholicism in the United States.
"Whyte, William Foote: Street Corner Society," in Encyclopedia of Criminological TheoryStreet Corner Society, by William Foote Whyte, is a neighborhood study recording the complex relationships among gangs, police, racketeers, and politicians in “Cornerville,” now revealed as Boston's North End. This pioneering work in gang studies, participant observation and ethnic studies, published in 1943, has become a classic of sociological research and a model of urban ethnography.
eHRAF World CulturesThis link opens in a new windowA systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
Community Data & Information
North End Neighborhood, US Census Summary File 1 Data (2010)The following reports feature selected data collected on all people and households in the 2010 Census and are from the 2010 Census Summary Files (SF-1).Population information included these reports are sex, age, race, Hispanic or Latino origin, household and family characteristics, and group quarters population. Housing items include whether a housing unit is owner-occupied or renter-occupied, as well as occupancy and vacancy status. This report is a profile of North End.
North End 2010The neighborhood of North End by Age, Race, Ethnicity and Housing from the 2010 Census.
American Community Survey, 2005-2009 Estimate, North EndThe American Community Survey (ACS) is an annual survey conducted by the US Census Bureau using a sample of the total population to create estimates. The Research Division created a series of profiles based on neighborhood and planning district boundaries. This report is a profile of North End.
Boston Data PortalThe Boston Data Portal makes publicly available the data products from BARI projects. The Data Portal is a key part of BARI’s efforts to collect and disseminate information that foster policy/research collaborations. The Data Portal has two components: the Boston Data Library and BostonMap.
Analyze BostonAnalyze Boston is the City of Boston's open data hub. We invite you to explore our datasets, read about us, or see our tips for users.
Global Boston: A Portal to the Region's Immigrant Past and PresentGlobal Boston is a digital project based at Boston College that chronicles the history of immigration to greater Boston since the early nineteenth century. Examining different time periods, ethnic groups, and places of settlement, the site features capsule histories, photographs, maps, documents, videos, and oral histories documenting the history of a city and metro area where immigrants have long been a vital force in shaping urban life.