"How NOT to Write About Africa"
Academic writing resources from BU Libraries collection
Click on the cover to access the ebook:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today’s writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
Location: LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226816388Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing by
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing is a groundbreaking resource that offers emerging and experienced scholars from all disciplines a comprehensive review of the essential elements needed to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The authors discuss the components of different types of manuscripts, explain the submission process, and offer readers suggestions for working with editors and coauthors, dealing with rejection, and rewriting and resubmitting their work. They include advice for developing quality writing skills, outline the fundamentals of a good review, and offer guidance for becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer. "One of those rare books that will teach you something new every time you pick it up. It belongs on the desks of emerging scholars and writing professors everywhere."--Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor, The State University of New York "Rocco and Hatcher have done every scholar, doctoral student, and committee chair a huge favor by putting this book together. Now in one place we can find resources to help graduate students and scholars get over their writing blocks and fear of writing, and learn how to write successfully."--Alan L. Carsrud, Loretta Rogers Chair of Entrepreneurship Research, Ryerson University, and associate editor, Journal of Small Business Management "This handbook performs a valuable service by collecting the wisdom of scholars from different disciplines and countries and offering publishing guidance that is both rigorous and systematic. Everyone who writes for scholarly publication will benefit from the insights provided by this book."--Tom Radko, editor, Journal of Scholarly Publishing
Location: PN146 .H36 2011ISBN: 9780470393352Publication Date: 2011
Becoming an Academic Writer by
Becoming an Academic Writer helps you gain control over writing and publishing, master specific aspects of academic writing, and improve your productivity. Patricia Goodson's book offers weekly exercises and tools to achieve these goals. The exercises are grounded in a theoretically-sound and empirically-based mode comprising a set of behavioural principles (e.g., writing regularly, separating generating from editing) and specific practices (weekly exercises) which ensure success. Based on the work of writing theoretician Peter Elbow, the empirical research done by Robert Boice (and others) on writing productivity of college professors, and the research into the practice patterns of elite performers (such as Olympic athletes), the principles and practices have been developed and tested over time. Inside you'll find: Exercises tailored to specific segments of academic papers and reports Tips for ESL Writers boxes, providing additional support. This book uniquely combines these successful principles with a set of original exercises applicable to the writing needs of academics as well as students.
Location: PE1408 .G585 2013ISBN: 9781452203867Publication Date: 2012
Find more books and e-books in BU Libraries collections on Academic Writing.
Free Online resources
The following online and interactive resources would assist you in improving your writing or in engaging in academic conversations. The selected listing include grammar & punctuation guides as well as tools for finding "right words", proofreading & outlining paragraphs etc..
- Online Resources for Academic Writers ( from BU Educational Resources Center)Free online resources for writers at all levels to complement face-to-face Writing Assistance appointments at BU Educational Resources Center.
- Purdue OWL: Academic WritingThese OWL resources will help you with the types of writing you may encounter while in college. The OWL resources range from rhetorical approaches for writing, to document organization, to sentence level work, such as clarity.
- Dictionary.comOnline source for English definitions, synonyms, word origins, audio pronunciations, example sentences, slang phrases, idioms, word games, legal and medical terms, Word of the Day and more.
- OneLook ThesaurusThis tool lets you describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept. Your description can be anything at all: a single word, a few words, or even a whole sentence. Type in your description and hit Enter (or select a word that shows up in the autocomplete preview) to see the related words.
- Virtual writing TutorVirtual Writing Tutor is a free online grammar checker for ESL writing that finds common ESL punctuation and spelling mistakes. Check grammar for free.
- PaperRaterFree Online tool for:
•Proofreading (Spelling and Grammar Check)
•Style and Word Choice Analysis
•Readability Statistics
•Title Validation
•Vocabulary Builder tool
Writing Assistance at BU
The Educational Resource Center (ERC) helps BU students develop the range and depth of academic skills needed for classes and programs. This is a free resource available to you. Schedule an appointment or just drop by.
Here is more information about Writing Assistance.
Take a look at the list of Online Writing Resources that they recommend.
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies