Search Tips
Cape Verde Cape de Verde Cabo Verde Cap Vert Cap-Vert
Digital Archival Materials
- Cabo Verde - Memorias de Africa Collection of Lusophone African materials; includes a digital archive and library, containing photographs and various publications. Can narrow search to "Cabo Verde"
- Reforestation and Land Reform in Cabo Verde 1981 Photos by Frits Eisenloeffel Journalist Frits Eisenloeffel travelled to Guinea and Cabo Verde in August-September 1981 to report on the developments since independence in 1974. On the Isle of São Antão he photographed a reforestation project in which pine-trees are planted on mountains to prevent erosion. On the same island he took photos of government officials João Pereira Silva (minister of agriculture) and Ovidio Fernandes (party chef of Ribeira Grande) explaining the unpopular plans for socialist land reforms to the people in a public meeting in Ribeira Grande. These meetings were held after the PAIGC (Partido Africano da Independência de Guiné e Cabo Verde) lost support of the people of Cabo Verde when one person was killed and two people were wounded by PAIGC troops during protests on São Antão. This is part of an photo exhibition from the Frits Eisenloeffel collection
- 40 Anos do 25 de Abril - 40 anos de independência: Cabo Verde 40 Anos do 25 de Abril - 40 anos de independência, [Deutsche Welle]. Celebrating 40 years of independence: this resource contains interviews with those involved in the struggle for independence. Includes materials from across the former Portuguese colonies.
- Counting Colonial Populations (Lusophone World) Demography and the Use of Statistics in the Portuguese Empire, 1776-1890 This project and database aims to: "identify and analyse the demographic patterns in the Portuguese Empire between 1776 and 1875... [and] to explain how the population statistics had a significant role in the consolidation of the Portuguese colonies in Africa, Asia and the Americas."
- Portal do Conhecimento ("Knowledge Portal"), Government Portal/Repository containing academic and scientific documents, including: theses, dissertations, articles, etc. having to do with Cape Verde and Cape Verdeans. Resources come from both national and international institutions.
BU Special Collections
Selected Colonial Era Documents (J Docs) For consultation on site only
- The African Studies Library holds a small collection of Cabo Verdean government documents accessible only by card catalog. Known as the JDocs, they include materials such as 1800's era US Consulate Dispatches from Santiago (on microfilm), O Arquipelago (assorted volumes from 1962, 1963/64), presidential speeches and statistical data.
Ephemera Collection For consultation on site only
Brief title list (to be expanded soon)
- Cabo Verde
- Tchuba Newsletters
- Cape Verde Post Report, April 1982.
- Partido Africano da Independencia da Guine e Cabo Verde
- Boletim Informativo
- Cabo Verde: Cape Verdean & Crioulo Culture - Cape Verdean Literature.
- Cabo Verde: A History of the Cape Verde Islands.
- A Independencia: Base do progresso e do bem-estar da Nação Caboverdeana. Aristides Pereira
- 5 de Julho de 1978: Mensagem do Camarada Presidente
- Imagens de Cabo Verde
- Mensagem de fim do Ano Novo, por Aristedes Pereira 1977.
- Agencia do Estados Unidos de Cooperação para o Desenvolvimento
- Cape Verde: Geography
- Nho Lobo: Folk Tales of the Cape Verdean People
- News of Cape Verde
- Mission Multidonateur Pour L’Evaluation de L’Annee Agricole, 1982.
- Nomination of John Melvin Yates to be Ambassador of the republic of Cape Verde: Hearing before the Foreign Relations United States Senate. On , March 8, 1983
- Consolidar as vitorias alcança das e garantir a continuação da construção da sociedade nova, Aristedes Pereira
- Terra Nova: Junho 1993. janeiro 1994.
- I Congresso do PAIC V
- OMCV
- Uma Visita de Trabalho do Presidente Aristides Pereira; A Santo Antão
Local Collections of Interest
Cape Verdean Museum - "....Dedicated to celebrating the history and culture of Cape Verde and Cape Verdean Americans....There are exhibits on music and the arts, slavery, whaling, the immigration packets, the cranberry bogs, the longshoremen and Cape Verdean Independence among other topics. We also have an extensive library of books and films available for browsing and academic research."
New Bedford Whaling Museum - (Click here for the Portuguese version of the site) The museum includes a focus on Cabo Verde as a key player in the whaling industry. A previous exhibit includes: Cape Verdean Maritime Exhibit (July, 2011) and in 2016, collaborative exhibitions were unveiled between the Whaling Museum and the Ministry of Culture in Cabo Verde. Exhibits in São Vicente and São Nicolau, showcase some 50 artifacts gifted from the Whaling Museum. These include models of the C.W. Morgan and the Ernestina, along with examples of harpoons, scrimshaw, prints and photographs (read the full article here)
Head, African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm