Reference Books
![By Lka (Own work (Lka)) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via](https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fc/Mindelo-Aug2000.jpg)
View of Mindelo, Cape Verde, August 2000. By Lka (Own work (Lka)) Wikimedia Commons
Find more books in BU Libraries collection which provide an overview / description of Cabo Verde.
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Cape Verde by
The archipelago forming the Republic of Cape Verde consists of 21 islands and inlets, 9 of which are inhabited. First discovered by Portuguese sailors around 1455, the islands were set up as a strategically secure base for trade along the West African coast and became stopover points for such famous navigators as Vasco Da Gama and Christopher Columbus. This small nation achieved independence from Portuguese rule in 1975, first as a nationalist one-party state and then in 1991 transforming into a plural democracy. Since independence, its growing tourism business has improved the living conditions of this once poor and undeveloped nation into the promising up-and-coming country it is today. This fourth edition of Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Cape Verde offers a comprehensive history of the country, linking the pre-colonial and colonial past with postcolonial events. Through newly created maps, a detailed chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, appendixes, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important political and cultural events, historical figures, places, political organizations, and cultural groups as well as abstract cultural, social, political, and economic topics, this valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, professionals, and teachers of African studies takes an interdisciplinary approach to providing the most extensive and up-to-date assessment of Cape Verde history available.
ISBN: 9780810849068Publication Date: 2007-06-11
The Dialogic Nation of Cape Verde by
The Dialogic Nation of Cape Verde: Slavery, Language, and Ideology is an ethnographic study of language use and ideology in Cape Verde, from its early settlement as a center for slave trade, to the postcolonial present. The study is methodologically rich and innovative in that it weaves together historical, linguistic, and ethnographic data from different eras with sketches of contemporary life--a homicide trial, a scholarly meeting, a competition for a new national flag, a heterodox Catholic mass, an analysis of love letters, a priest's sermon, and a death in the neighborhood. In all these different contexts, Marcia Rego focuses on the role of Kriolu (the Cape Verdean Creole) and its relation to Portuguese--that is, on the way people live through speaking. The Dialogic Nation of Cape Verde shows how, through the dialogic give-and-take of the two languages, Cape Verdeans wrestle with deep-seated colonial hierarchies, invent and rehearse new traditions, and articulate their identity as a sovereign, creole nation.
ISBN: 9780739193778Publication Date: 2015-04-08
Cape Verde by
The Cape Verde Islands, an Atlantic archipelago off the coast of Senegal, were first settled during the Portuguese Age of Discovery in the fifteenth century. A "Crioulo" population quickly evolved from a small group of Portuguese settlers and large numbers of slaves from the West African coast. In this important new study, Dr. Richard Lobban sketches Cape Verde's complex history over five centuries, from its role in the slave trade through its years under Portuguese colonial administration and its protracted armed struggle on the Guinea coast for national independence, there and in Cape Verde.Dr. Lobban offers a rich ethnography of the islands, exploring the diverse heritage of Cape Verdeans who have descended from Africans, Europeans, and Luso-Africans. Looking at economics and politics, Lobban reflects on Cape Verde's efforts to achieve economic growth and development, analyzing the move from colonialism to state socialism and on to a privatized market economy built around tourism, fishing, small-scale mining, and agricultural production. He then chronicles Cape Verde's peaceful transition from one-party rule to elections and political pluralism. He concludes with an overview of the prospects for this tiny oceanic nation on a pathway to development.
ISBN: 9780813384511Publication Date: 1995-07-02
Selected Online Sources
- African Studies Abstracts Online The catalog of the African Studies Center Library at the University of Leiden (Holland) is your entry to a database of articles in journals as well as books. Full text is not available, but many of the journals cited are in the BU Libraries’ collection. Check the catalog and the ejournals locator. Also check out their Web Dossiers. These are informative essays with excellent bibliographies on topics such as Darfur, poverty reduction and African cinema.
- AfroBarometer: Cape Verde "Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa."
- Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database A database is probably the best one to use for most African topics. It does not provide full-text, but many of the journals cited are in the BU Libraries’ collection.
- Memorias d'Africa e do Oriente [digital archive] "Since 1997, the "Memories of Africa and the Orient Portal" has been a project of the Portugal-Africa Foundation developed and maintained by the University of Aveiro and the Center for Studies on Africa and Development. It serves a fundamental and pioneering role in the attempt to strengthen the historical memory of the ties that unite Portugal and the Lusofone world. The project serves to contribute towards a collective identity to people of all the countries." [paraphrased translation from "About"] O Portal das Memórias de África e do Oriente é um projecto da Fundação Portugal-África desenvolvido e mantido pela Universidade de Aveiro e pelo Centro de Estudos sobre África e do Desenvolvimento desde 1997. É um instrumento fundamental e pioneiro na tentativa de potenciar a memória histórica dos laços que unem Portugal e a Lusofonia, sendo deste modo uma ponte com o nosso passado comum na construção de um identidade colectiva aos povos de todos esses países.
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies