American Psychological Association (APA) Style Manual
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Location: Mugar Reference BF76.7 P83 (Temporary online access available through HathiTrust)
Sci/Eng Reference BF76.7 P83
Education Reference BF76.7 P83
Pardee Reference BF76.7 P83
Sci/Eng Reference BF76.7 P83
Education Reference BF76.7 P83
Pardee Reference BF76.7 P83
This is the official style manual for the APA. The website at http://www.apastyle.org/ offers extensive information. They also have an APA Style tutorial. The 7th edition is the most recent, published in 2019.
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style by Location: Mugar Reference Z253 U69
Education Reference Z253 U69
Pardee Reference Z253 U69
Stone Reference Z253 U69Originally written in 1906, this tome has a rich history of providing quality guidelines for citing works and creating bibliographies. The BU Libraries have a subscription to the full online version. The website also offers a citation quick guide that has many examples. The 17th edition is the most recent, published in 2017.
Turabian
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Location: Mugar Reference LB2369 T8
Sci/Eng Reference LB2369 T8
Education Reference LB2369 T8
Pardee Reference LB2369 T8
Music Reference LB2369 T8The famous work by Kate Turabian, the latest edition (the 6th, published in 1996) was altered to conform with the guidelines set in The Chicago Manual of Style.
General Citation Guides
- Citing Sources Within Your Paper (Duke University) Duke University is responsible for this well-organized site about citing in the body of your text.
- Sources and Citation (Dartmouth College) This great resource from Dartmouth College is clear and easy-to-use.
- Documentation Styles (Simmons College) Simmons College has produced this guide that includes MLA, APA, AMA, ASA, CSE, and Chicago styles.
- Citation Guide (Harvard Business School) This excellent guide in .PDF from the Harvard Business School covers citation within text as well as how to do a bibliography using Chicago style.
- Citation Machine A site designed to help create bibliographies easily, this was developed by David Warlick & The Landmark Project.
- EasyBib.com This company has partnered with WorldCat, and can format, alphabetize and print a bibliography based on APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.
Cite Right by Location: Mugar Reference PN171.F56 L55 2006In addition to the four styles listed on this page, this work also includes style samples for ACS (for chemistry), Bluebook and ALWD (for legal), and others.
Electronic Styles by Location: Mugar Reference PN171 F56 L5
Sci/Eng Reference PN171 F56 L5
Education Reference PN171 F56 L5
Pardee ReferencePN171 F56 L5This print source contains excellent examples of citing electronic information in both APA and MLA styles.
The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law by Location: Mugar Reference PN4783 A83This work recommended by the Associated Press is in its 43rd edition.
