Skip to main content

African Poster Collection

About

This partial listing comprises our country-specific posters. Additional posters are listed under "Posters by Topic".

Posters: Angola

Angola and Nambia Folder (Drawer #40)

Selection of black and white photographs, small in size, circa 1979(?)

1. Cheering MPLA troops celebrate victory.

2. In March 1976 the South African invasion forces retreated from Angola into Namibia.  Angolan soldiers established look-out posts along Namibian borders.

3. A section of the retreating South African invasion force crosses the bridge over the Cunene, the border river.

4. Namibian refugees on their way to Angola.  They have had to leave most of their possessions behind.

5. Not in folder.

6. Food preparation in a refugee camp.  All the food has to be brought in from outside Angola.

7. Not in folder

8. Youngsters who have fled Namibia are met and supplied with the basic requirements by SWAPO, in the South of Angola.

9. They then leave for the refugee camps which are hundred of kilometer from the Namibian border.

10. A South African Impala MB-326 bomber, built in South African under Italian licence, shot down above Angolan territory.

11. Marthinus Smit, the South African pilot of an aircraft which was shot down, with a letter to his parents which was found on him.

12. Angola organised an exhibition of captured South African war materials.

13. An Angolan farmer tells foreign visitors of the South African air raid on his village.

14. South Africa regularly employs troops which are flown in by helicopter to perform ground attacks.

15. South African troops by Angolan shelter.

16. South African troops fight with blackened faces in Angola.

17. Many workers at this furniture factory in the Angolan city Lubango were killed when South African aircraft attacked the factory in September 1979.

18. Not in folder

19. Not in folder

20. PLAN- the SWAPO liberation army of Namibia.

Posters: Botswana

Not in folder  (Drawer #40)

Ballot Paper

  • Published by the Botswana Independent Electoral Commission
  • Includes party name, abbreviation, symbol
  • Small size
     

African Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Botswana

  • Published by the Division of Tourism
  • Photograph of man herding cattle
  • Medium size


Botswana Education and South African Anti-Apartheid Folder  (Drawer #40)

I Have Trouble Learning

  • Published by the Botswana Ministry of Education, Special Education Unit
  • Provides information about special education in English and Setswana
  • Small size

I Can't Hear You

  • Published by the Botswana Ministry of Education, Special Education Unit
  • Provides information about communicating with hearing impaired people, in English and Setswana
  • Small size

Posters: Cameroon

Hairstyles, Men  (Drawer #36)

  • Dikanda Jules Georges, Artiste Peintre B.P. 299, Yaounde, Cameroon
  • Examples of hairstyles for use at a barber shop
  • Medium; wooden board
  • Donation from the BU Africa Outreach Library

Posters: Ghana

“Kente is More than a Cloth: History and Significance of Ghana’s Kente Cloth” (Drawer #36)

  • Researched and designed by Kwaku Ofori-Ansa, Associate Professor of African Art History, Dept. of Art, College of Fine Arts, Howard University.
  • Published by Sankofa Publications, Hyattsville, MD. USA, 1993
  • Large size; rolled
  • Donation from BU Africa Outreach Program

Posters: Guinea

Republique de Guinee (Drawer #40)

  • "Comite Militaire Redressement National...Et Gouvernement de la Republique"
  • Medium size

Posters: Kenya

Mandela and Kenyan Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Nairobi, Kenya

  • Tourism poster depicting fine dining, animals, horse racing...
  • Medium size

Kenya: The People

  • Tourism poster with a photograph of a Maasai woman in traditional dress
  • "Kenya, ask your travel agent
  • Large size
     

Not in folder (Drawer #40)

Kenya.

  • Central Office of Information, Great Britain. “Photo-poster produced by the central… Published by Her Majesty’s Stationary Office, 1953.
  • Large size; brittle – folded.

Posters: Malawi

African Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

The Blantyre Mission, Malawi

  • "The Blantyre Mission was founded in memory of David Livingstone"
  • Photograph of the church and text about David Livingstone
  • Medium size

 

Malawi Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Malawi: The land of fun & rhythm

  • Color photos of waiter water skiing and traditional dancers.
  • Medium size

Malawi: The land of mountains & wildlife

  • Color photo of landscape with zebras
  • Medium size

Malawi: Land of lake & wildlife

  • Color photo of wildlife and fishing scene
  • Medium size

Posters: Mozambique

Cartazes de Frelimo Folder (Drawer #40)
Commemorating independence in Mozambique (in Portuguese)

Rovuma, Maputo, 1975  ("3 de fevereiro de 1975"​)

Camarada Josina Machel, 1972  ("7 de abril 1972, 10 aniversario da morte da Camarada Josina Machel, mulher Mocambicana combatente")

Unidade Trabalho Vigilancia

  • "Frelimo Vencera!"​

Camarada Eduardo C. Mondlane, 1973

  • "3 de fevereiro, 1969-1973...Aniversario da morte do primeiro presidente da frelimo"

Dr. Eduardo C. Mondlane

  • "1 presidente da frelimo...3 de Fevereiro a luta continua"

25 Setembro 1964-1971

  • "A guerra da frelimo e a guerra do povo"

Frelimo, 25 Setembro

  • "Katika kupigana na ukoloni na ubeberu"

25 September

  • "dia da revoluao mocambiacana"

Frelimo

  • "estudar produzir combater"

Opressao, Liberdade

  • "Na zona do inimigo: opressao...na zona da frelimo: liberdade"

Frelimo, 1964-1974

  • "lo anos de guerra popular"​

Frelimo, 7 de abril dia da mulher Mocambicana

Invaso Opressao Resistencia

O Sanguinario Kaulza E O Seu Bando

  • "Pena dos pais, das familias que em Portugal..."

Frelimo

  • "Kaulza de arriaga pretendeu invadir Mocambique..."

Luta armada

  • "O povo pega em armas..."

Reconstrucao Nancional

  • "Em largas zonas do nosso pais, o povo ja vive livre..."

Josina

  • "7 de Abril, dia da muhler Mocambicana"

Not in folder (Drawer #40) 

Eleicoes, Democracia E Direitos Humanos, post-1992(?)

  • Published by Liga Mocambicana dos Direitos Humanos
  • Advising Mozambique's citizens to vote for a better country
  • In Portuguese
  • Small size 

Posters: Namibia

Angola and Nambia Folder (Drawer #40)

Selection of black and white photographs, small in size, circa 1979(?)

1. Cheering MPLA troops celebrate victory.

2. In March 1976 the South African invasion forces retreated from Angola into Namibia.  Angolan soldiers established look-out posts along Namibian borders.

3. A section of the retreating South African invasion force crosses the bridge over the Cunene, the border river.

4. Namibian refugees on their way to Angola.  They have had to leave most of their possessions behind.

5. Not in folder.

6. Food preparation in a refugee camp.  All the food has to be brought in from outside Angola.

7. Not in folder

8. Youngsters who have fled Namibia are met and supplied with the basic requirements by SWAPO, in the South of Angola.

9. They then leave for the refugee camps which are hundred of kilometer from the Namibian border.

10. A South African Impala MB-326 bomber, built in South African under Italian licence, shot down above Angolan territory.

11. Marthinus Smit, the South African pilot of an aircraft which was shot down, with a letter to his parents which was found on him.

12. Angola organised an exhibition of captured South African war materials.

13. An Angolan farmer tells foreign visitors of the South African air raid on his village.

14. South Africa regularly employs troops which are flown in by helicopter to perform ground attacks.

15. South African troops by Angolan shelter.

16. South African troops fight with blackened faces in Angola.

17. Many workers at this furniture factory in the Angolan city Lubango were killed when South African aircraft attacked the factory in September 1979.

18. Not in folder

19. Not in folder

20. PLAN- the SWAPO liberation army of Namibia.

Posters: Nigeria

Not in folder (Drawer #36)

Hairstyles, Women – Mr. C. Adeoye, Agent. Ibadan, Oyo State.

  • Ochomma Special Arts Enterprises, Nigeria
  • Medium size; paper pasted on board
  • Donation from BU Africa Outreach Program

Posters: Senegal

African Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Parcs Nationaux du Senegal

  • Published by Delegation Generale au Tourism
  • Blue background with drawings of animals, in French
  • Large size

Posters: South Africa

Botswana Education and South African Anti-Apartheid Folder (Drawer #40)

Apartheid is a Monster

  • Published by the United Nations Program for the International Anti-Apartheid Year
  • Includes a drawing of a monster by a student and text about the Anti-Apartheid Year
  • Small size

No Apartheid

  • "We will struggle till victory is assured"
  • Includes a quote by Oliver Tambo, ANC President, and an image of Hector Pieterson
  • Small size

Apartheid...A Crime Against Humanity

  • Published by the International Convention on the Suppression and Punishment of the Crime of Apartheid
  • Black and white photo of a woman's face
  • Small size

Where Are Their Graves in Soweto

  • A quote by Robert Sobukwe, late President of the Pan-Africanist Congress: "Each uprising is more determined than the last..."
  • Rough charcoal sketch of three faceless people
  • Small size

Fight Imperialism and National Oppression

  • "From the Union of South Africa to the United States of America"
  • Quote from Chief Albert Luthuli: "Ours is a continent in revolution against oppression..."
  • Small size

Fight Apartheid

  • "You can not extinguish the intense flame of life"
  • Quote from Steve Biko: "We have set out on a quest for true humanity..."
  • Small size

Apartheid is Pronounced Apart Hate

  • Quote from Reverend Desmond Tutu: "Blacks do not hate whites because they are white..."
  • Small size
 
Not in folder (Drawer #36)

“A Better Life for All”  ANC – Mandela
  • Africa National Congress, ca. 1994
  • Medium size; rolled

The Cape Slaver Leijdsman in St. Augustine Bay, 1715

  • The Cape Archives
  • Medium size

Exhibition of Photographs: Southern Africa the Imprisoned Society.

  • International Defence and Aid Fund for Southern Africa [1977].
  • Medium Size, (1 portfolio ([16] leaves, [80] leaves of plates)

 

Mandela and Kenyan Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Nelson Mandela: "I am prepared to die"

  • Statement made during trial
  • Mandela's image surrounded by the colors of the ANC
  • ​Medium size
     

Population RSA Bevoking Folder (Drawer #40)

Population RSA Bevoking, 1990

  • Published by the Republic of South Africa
  • Demographic statistics charts including education, religion, employment
  • In English and Afrikaans
  • Medium Size

Women Under Apartheid (Drawer #40)

 A Portable Photographic Exhibition Produced by International Defence and Aid Fund for Southern Africa in Co-operation with United Nations Center Again Apartheid.

  • 1: Introduction: The Migrant Labour System
  • 2: Family Life
  • 3: Resettlement
  • 4: Women at Work
  • 5: Social Services
  • 6: Squatter Camps: A Revolt against the Migrant Labour System
  • 7: Women Against Apartheid: Mass Campaigns 1913-59
  • 8: Women against apartheid: the struggle continues 1960-
  • Medium size

United Nations Against Apartheid Folder (Drawer #40)

United Nations Activities Against Apartheid, 1979

  • Published by the United Nations Centre Against Apartheid
  • Includes a letter to students, guidelines for teachers, and a time line of the UN's actions in South Africa from 1946-1979
  • Medium size

Posters: Sudan

Sudan Tourism Folder (Drawer #40)

Sudan

  • Published by Tourism and Hotels Corporation, Khartoum
  • Sketches of various Sudanese scenes
  • Large size

Sudan: Shilluk Tribal Dance

  • Published by Tourism and Hotels Corporation, Khartoum
  • Photo of men doing the Shilluk Tribal Dance
  • Large size

Sudan

  • Published by Tourism and Hotels Corporation, Khartoum
  • Sketches of one large Sudanese person with smaller people in foreground
  • Large size

Sudan: Camel Market

  • Published by Tourism and Hotels Corporation, Khartoum
  • Photo of a man and two camels
  • Large size

Head, African Studies Library

Beth Restrick's picture
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library

Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726