Related Guides
- Boston University Law Libraries, Computer Law, Cyberlaw & E-Commerce: Useful Resources Some of the resources on this guide [such as Westlaw] are restricted to the BU Law community.
Data Sources
For additional sources of crime data and statistics, see the Criminal Justice Data & Statistics research guide.
- Internet Crime Complaint Center Annual Report 2021 In 2021, America experienced an unprecedented increase in cyber attacks and malicious cyber activity.
- National Crime Victimization Survey: Identity Theft Supplement 2018 The primary purpose of the Identity Theft Supplement (ITS) is to measure the prevalence of identity theft among persons, the characteristics of identity theft victims, and patterns of reporting to the police, credit bureaus, and other authorities. The ITS was also designed to collect important characteristics of identity theft such as how the victim's personal information was obtained; the physical, emotional and financial impact on victims; offender information; and the measures people take to avoid or minimize their risk of becoming an identity theft victim.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
- "Datasets for Analysis of Cybercrime," in The Palgrave Handbook of International Cybercrime and Cyberdeviance In this chapter we document various sources of cybercrime data to help guide future research endeavors.
Public Opinion
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
- Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
- Teens and Cyberbullying 2022 (Pew Research Center) Nearly half of U.S. teens have been bullied or harassed online, with physical appearance being seen as a relatively common reason why. Older teen girls are especially likely to report being targeted by online abuse overall and because of their appearance.
