Digital Archives: South Africa
- Archival Platform The Archival Platform plays an advocacy and intervention role in respect of memory, archives and records as dynamic public resources in South Africa in the 21st century and within the context of a young democracy.(Based out of the Dept. of Social Anthropology, University of Cape Town)
- Historical Papers Research Archive: University of Witwatersrand Collection of digitized papers and finding guides for non-digitized collections from the University of Witwatersrand.
- Nelson Mandela Digital Archive Project From the site: "Our aim is to locate, document, digitise, and provide access to all archival materials related to Nelson Mandela. This is a work in progress. Here is a selection of materials arranged in exhibits for your enjoyment."
- Olive Schreiner Letters Online "Around 5000 of Schreiner’s letters, written between 1871 and 1920, survive.....Her letters are an unparalleled resource for investigating colonialism under transition, feminism and socialism, prostitution, marriage, changing understandings of ‘race’ and capital, imperialism in southern Africa, the South African War, women's franchise campaigns, ‘race’ and labour issues, international feminist networks, pacifism and war economies, political and economic change in South Africa post WW1, and much more."
- Ruth First Papers "The Ruth First Papers are the collected notes and writings of Ruth First, activist, campaigning journalist and scholar. The project aims to create and populate a digital archive of a selection of Ruth First’s writings held at the ICwS and in partner collections."
- Trace of Truth The Preservation and Access to Records and Stories relating to the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) is a joint Historical Papers (The Library, University of the Witwatersrand) and the South African History Archives Project.
Instiutional Repositories: South Africa
Institutional repositories are the digital collections for a research institution and are often a great resource for finding works by African scholars, particularly theses and dissertations.
- OpenUCT University of Cape Town
- SEALS Digital Commons South East Academic Libraries System (SEALS) member libraries are from the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Rhodes University, University of Fort Hare, and Walter Sisulu University.
- WIReDSpace (Wits Institutional Repository on DSpace) University of the Witwatersrand
Data & Statistics
- South Africa Data Portal Data, statistics and visualizations for South Africa
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies