Your BU ID (Terrier Card) is your library card! BU Graduate students can check out items from the STH Library's circulating collections for 133 days! (Alumni, undergraduates, and visitors have 28 days). As a BU affiliate, you have access to all libraries at Boston University, including Mugar Memorial Library. All borrowed materials are subject to recall from other users; if recalled, the due date is changed to one week from date of recall. Please note, during the COVID-19 pandemic, this timeframe has been extended to two weeks.
Theology Library items not on reserve should automatically renew as long as you are affiliated with Boston University and your account is settled (this occurs four days before the listed due date). Items from other libraries at Boston University may need to be renewed manually. You will receive a courtesy notice as items are coming due. Visit here to monitor your account, renew items, and place view recalls and requests. You can return items from any BU library (including Mugar Memorial Library) to the Theology Library.
The School of Theology Library does not charge fines or fees for overdue material. If an item is lost, we instead ask for you to purchase a replacement copy for the library. Contact the library staff at email@example.com once you discover a library item has been lost.
If a borrowed item is recalled by another patron, you will receive courtesy notices to your BU email address with the new due date. Please abide by the new due date and return the requested items as soon as possible; you will be blocked from further borrowing at the library if items are marked overdue or lost on your account.
Repeated late returns of reserve or recalled material may lead to a suspension of borrowing privileges at the Theology Library, or referrals to the Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at the School of Theology.
Upon graduating or leaving the university, please make sure your library account is clear and all items have been returned to the library.
We have a large archives/research collection that specializes in bible collections, Methodism (including the New England Conference Archives), missiology, hymnology, and STH history. Learn more about access to our archival and research collections. Other libraries at Boston University may have non-circulating collections, or collections that may be limited. Please reach out to that institution to see what their policies are.
You are not limited to just our library! Borrow from all other BU Libraries, and libraries throughout Boston! See more here. We are able to request books that we don't own from libraries throughout the world! Learn more about our interlibrary loan service here for more heavy-duty research.