Related Research & How-to Guides
Social Science Research Methods
- SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Core is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
- Encyclopedia of Social Measurement The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data.
- What is Qualitative Interviewing? What is Qualitative Interviewing? addresses the changes brought by new technologies as well as enduring issues such as asking and listening, the implications of power dynamics, and the broader social relations for research and interviewer-interviewee relations.
- What is Qualitative Research? This book invites readers to explore the nature of qualitative research, and to recognise the varied and conflicting forms it can take. It examines how these contrast with quantitative work, as well as how they differ from journalism and imaginative literature. The book describes various methodological philosophies that have shaped qualitative work, as well as different types of orientation to be found within it today. It offers clear definitions of key terms and concepts, and also a detailed exploration of recent disputes among qualitative researchers, with a view to showing how differences in practice relate to underlying commitments. This book will be a vital resource for both new and experienced researchers.
- Envisioning Criminology Researchers on Research as a Process of Discovery This book provides a different view of the research process in criminology and criminal justice. The specific methods used run the gamut from ethnographic studies to research on big (or biggish) data. Despite our reservations about creating pigeonholes for these chapters (so many of them fit into a number of categories!), we can consider five areas into which the chapters can be categorized: those that rely on information obtained from the street; those that generate new data; those that mine extant sources of data in new ways; those that describe analyses of existing data; and those that use visual and geographical tools.
- Ethnography: A Way of Seeing One of anthropology's leading writers on ethnographic methods, Harry Wolcott discusses the fundamental nature of ethnographic studies. Tracing its development from its disciplinary origins in sociology and anthropology, he points out what is distinctive about ethnography and what it means to conduct research in the ethnographic tradition. In this engaging and thought-provoking book, Wolcott distinguishes ethnography as more than just a set of field methods and practices, separating it from many related qualitative research traditions as 'a way of seeing' through the lens of culture. For both beginning and experienced ethnographers in a wide range of disciplines, Wolcott's book will provide important ideas for improving research practice.
- The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods This handbook provides comprehensive coverage of contemporary and developing Internet and online social research methods, spanning both quantitative and qualitative research applications.
- Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. This resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.
- Principles of Sociological Inquiry : Qualitative and Quantitative Methods Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students.Each chapter describes how research methodology is useful for students in the multiple roles they fill.
- The Handbook of Narrative Analysis Featuring contributions from leading scholars in the field, The Handbook of Narrative Analysis is the first comprehensive collection of sociolinguistic scholarship on narrative analysis to be published. Represents established modes of narrative analysis juxtaposed with innovative new methods for conducting narrative research.
- The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. It targets a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
- A Dictionary of Social Research Methods This new dictionary offers succinct, clear, expert explanations of key terms from both method and methodology in social research. It covers the whole range of qualitative, quantitative, and other methods, and it ranges from practical techniques like correlation up to methodological approaches such as ethnography. This wide-ranging approach enables it to cover terms needed by every social science discipline along with business and management, education, health, and other areas that encompass social research within their remit.
- A Quick Guide to Quantitative Research in the Social Sciences This resource is intended as an easy-to-use guide for anyone who needs some quick and simple advice on quantitative aspects of research in social sciences, covering subjects such as education, sociology, business, nursing. If you area qualitative researcher who needs to venture into the world of numbers, or a student instructed to undertake a quantitative research project despite a hatred for maths, then this booklet should be a real help.
- Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and Practices This book is designed to introduce doctoral and graduate students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines.The target audience for this book includes Ph.D. and graduate students, junior researchers, and professors teaching courses on research methods, although senior researchers can also use this book as a handy and compact reference.
