Related Guides
Background Sources
- End of days : an encyclopedia of the Apocalypse in world religions Describes apocalyptic writings in the world's major religious traditions, including Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism. The cross-referenced entries address ancient traditions--Zoroastrianism, as one example--as well as modern apocalyptic movements, such as Arun Shinrikyo, the Branch Davidians, and the Order of the Solar Temple.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, etc.) of women in these societies.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window The Encylopaedia of the Qur'an Tis "an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies."
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2nd ed. This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today’s Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. A precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
- Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalism A chronology spanning 600 years, graphs of complex Islamic group associations and alliances, and an Arabic-to-English glossary have all been included to facilitate a complete understanding of the nuances and generalities that have shaped this movement. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism also contains an introduction, appendixes, an extensive bibliography, and more than 700 cross-referenced entries on ideologies, people, events, and movements of the 20th and 21st centuries.
- A Companion to the Anthropology of the Middle East A Companion to the Anthropology of the Middle East presents a comprehensive overview of current trends and future directions in anthropological research and activism in the modern Middle East. Offers critical perspectives on the theoretical, methodological, and pedagogical goals of anthropology in the Middle East Analyzes the conditions of cultural and social transformation in the Middle Eastern region and its relations with other areas of the world.
- Conservative Islam: A Cultural Anthropology Conservative Islam: A Cultural Anthropology by Erich Kolig analyzes the salient characteristics of Islam and contemporary Muslim society from the perspective of traditional cultural anthropology. By highlighting socio-cultural configurations, the universals they represent, the circumstances of their creation, and their semiotic meaning, Kolig helps the reader gain understanding of Islam in the modern world.
- Guide to Islamist Movements This is the first comprehensive guide to today’s most important, yet least understood transnational ideology—political Islamism. The movement takes many forms, ranging from electoral participation to revolutionary terrorism and global jihad, and influences the politics of virtually every country around the globe. The guide examines the movement’s diverse groups, ideas, and activities, including the beliefs, organizational structures, and interactions of the different groups.
Statistics
- World Religion Database This link opens in a new window The World Religion Database contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion for the period 1900 to 2050.
- World Christian Database This link opens in a new window Provided detailed statistics on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, and demography for Christian denominations and other world religions. Additional secular data is included on population, health, education, languages, and communication in cities and regions of the world.
