The African Studies Library has a wide range of newspapers from across the continents. They exist in a variety of formats and span many years.
Tip: Newspapers can provide a window on events or issues, but it is important to know a little bit about the newspaper. Is a political party behind it? Is it independently run? Is it a tabloid?
A Selection of Newspapers Databases
The BU African Studies Library houses approximately 1,600 maps. These can be found via BU Library Search.
You can also browse the collection by:
Please note that you must make an appointment (email email@example.com) to consult these maps on site.
Visit the Map Guide for more information and for online map resources.
See the African Studies Library's image collections available on FlickR.
Selected Image Collections Online:
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
American Geographical Society Library Digital Photo Archive
Africa Through a Lens (photos from the 1860s onwards)
Casimir Zagourski African Postcard Collection (1924-1941)
What is ephemera or gray literature?
Ephemera is a term given to materials that are considered to be of only temporary importance. Materials could include things like typescripts, manuscripts, memos, hand-written letters, pamphlets, etc.
Gray literature typically includes publications such as reports (annual, research, technical, project, etc.), working papers, government documents, white papers and evaluations. Organizations that produce grey literature include government departments and agencies, civil society or non-governmental organizations, academic centres and departments, and private companies and consultants.
The African Studies Library has a significant collection of ephemera / gray literature / pamphlets organized by country/region and subject. Ask the African Studies Librarians to show you the collection; it's a treasure trove of information!