Related Guides
Background Sources
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- AskART Academic This link opens in a new window AskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century." Does not include living people or those recently deceased.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (5th ed.) Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work. It contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources)
- Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists (2nd. ed.) An indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism, this dictionary offers readers a wealth of factual detail on and analysis of America’s leading artists, along with analysis of their work. T
- The Art Story: Artistis TheArtStory.org (a 501c3 Nonprofit) helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations.Search for artists by movement, country, or other criteria.
