Related Guides
Background Sources
- "Judaism: The Basics," in Bloomsbury Religion in North America Material in this section provides an introduction to Judaism as a global religious tradition. The Overview Article is a good starting point for beginners, along with articles covering topics including Jewish diversity, major texts of Judaism, and the Jewish calendar.
- "African American Religion in North America," in Bloomsbury Religion in North Aerica Resources in this section focus on African American Religion in North America. The Overview article is a good starting point for beginners, which demonstrates that Religion in North American cannot be fully comprehended without African American religion. Articles cover topics including Hip-Hop and African American Religion, Race and African American Religion, and Islam and the Black Experience.
- Hybrid Hate: Jews, Blacks, and the Question of Race The study of Western racism has tended to concentrate on either the hatred and murder of Jews or the hatred and enslavement of black people. As chief objects of racism Jews and blacks have been linked together for centuries, peoples apart from the general run of humanity,
- eHRAF World Cultures: North American Hasidic Jews Cultural summary, collection description and documents.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 : From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass It is impossible to understand America without understanding the history of African Americans. In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass - and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present : From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century This remarkable work traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape. With coverage up to and including the 2008 election of Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries all signed by leading scholars and experts, offering the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in this era.
- Black power encyclopedia : from "Black is beautiful" to urban uprisings An invaluable resource that documents the Black Power Movement by its cultural representation and promotion of self-determination and self-defense, and showcases the movement's influence on Black communities in America from 1965 to the mid-1970s.
- The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture : Volume 24: Race There is no denying that race is a critical issue in understanding the South. However, this concluding volume of "The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture" challenges previous understandings, revealing the region's rich, ever-expanding diversity and providing new explorations of race relations.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
- The Shengold Jewish Encyclopedia First published in 1957, this one-volume source for everything Jewish has delighted and instructed several generations in the English-speaking Jewish world. Fully updated through 2007, it provides snapshots and in-depth entries on every important Jewish personality, place, concept, event and value in Israel, the United States, and all other parts of the world.
- The encyclopedia of civil rights in America The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America is a comprehensive, alphabetically-organized reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the United States. The 677 entries address civil rights issues from a variety of perspectives, such as race, gender, age, medical status or conditions, physical and mental challenges, group membership, religion, and many others.
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
- Israel : A History Written by one of Israel’s most notable scholars, this volume provides a breathtaking history of Israel from the origins of the Zionist movement in the late nineteenth century to the present day.
