Skip to Main Content
Featured Title in the Digital Library of the Middle East
A pocket guide to Iran (1943)
“A pocket guide to Iran” was a booklet published by U.S. War Department in 1943. It aimed to inform the U.S. military, who were present in Iran at the time, about the basics of the Iranian culture, history, and geography.
Find Music, Oral Literature, & Digital Collections
Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new window
Music & Performing Arts' collections include American Music, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, Smithsonian's Global Sound, Ethnographic Sound Archives, American Film Scripts, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, North American Drama, and Theatre in Context. Search results include links to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran, Harvard Digital Collections
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, making it a unique online resource for social and cultural histories of the Qajar world.
Tehran Propaganda Murals, Harvard Digital Collections
A part of daily life in contemporary Iran, propaganda murals appear throughout Tehran on both public and private buildings and contain powerful iconographic imagery. This selection of over 130 propaganda murals photographed in the capital city during the summer of 2006 is among the first “born digital” special collections to come to the library and represents one of the first efforts to systematically document such public murals.
Iranian Oral History Project, Harvard Digital Collections
The Iranian Oral History Project (IOHP) is a unique resource for the study of modern Iranian history. The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database
World Oral Literature Project: Iran
The World Oral Literature Project is pleased to host the historical collection of Susan Wright. The audio material in this collection was recorded between 1974 and 1976 in Iran as part of field research for a D.Phil.
Featured Digital Library
Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME)
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world.
