Related Guides
Databases
Hospitality & Culinary Arts
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles and industry news on all areas of tourism and hospitality. Areas covered include: culinary arts; food and beverage management; hospitality law; hotel management, leisure and travel, market trends. Date coverage: circa 1940 - present
Agriculture
- AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window Index to the National Agricultural Library, including primary sources on world agriculture. Most useful for pre-2000 coverage.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts searches journal articles in all areas of the biological sciences. Like all databases on the Web of Science platform, it also provides citation information — both articles cited and 'cited by' links, allowing the user to follow the literature on a topic both forward and backward in time. Allows searching using BIOSIS indexing, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers as well as the more traditional search terms. Date coverage: 1989 - present.
- AGRIS AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology.
Social Sciences
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide coverage of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
Business & Industry
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
Area Studies
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. Date coverage: 1970 - present.
- Redalyc (Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe,España y Portugal) Provides access to over 500 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) Provides access to journals from Latin America, South Africa, Spain, and Portugal. Strongest in science, medicine and public health, but also includes applied social sciences and humanities.
Searching across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released). Date coverage: varies by publication.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Date coverage varies by publication
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters theses are included selectively. Date coverage: full text 1997 - present; abstracts 1980 - present; indexing 1861 - present.
