Skip to Main Content
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This collection contains almost all known records of the major national temperance organizations, including the Anti-Saloon League of America (A.S.L.A.) and the Woman's Christian Temperance Union (W.C.T.U.).
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It has been sourced from libraries and archives across the world. Covers a broad assortment of both far-right and left political groups. It offers a mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements. The collections cover the 1900s through 2010s.
Alcohol Production and Consumption (Food and Drink in History)
This theme spans almost the entire historical range of the resource, with alcohol never far removed from the discourse of food. It covers the production and consumption of alcohol in both commercial and domestic contexts, from sixteenth-to eighteenth century cookbooks with household recipes for alcoholic drinks, to nineteenth century texts on commercial brewing and distilling and twentieth century marketing reports for brands of spirits. Documents in this theme encompass the production, marketing, sale and consumption of alcohol, as well as abstinence from it, with coverage of temperance and the prohibition movement.
Ardent Spirits: The Origins of the American Temperance Movement, Library Company of Philadelphia
The temperance movement was the longest-lasting and most broad-based social reform movement in the United States. Activism in the movement crossed gender, race, class, religion, and age barriers, and was connected to both the antislavery and woman suffrage reforms. This exhibition traces the temperance movement’s development from moral persuasion to legal coercion.