Skip to Main Content
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Core is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
Sourcebook of Family Theory and Research
The Sourcebook of Family Theory and Research is the definitive reference work on theory and methods for family scholars and students around the world. This volume provides a diverse, eclectic, and paradoxically mature approach to theorizing, and demonstrates how the development of theory is crucial to the future of family research. The Sourcebook is an excellent addition to any academic library. It is an authoritative reference for scholars and researchers in Human Development and Family Studies, Sociology, Social Work, and Psychology. In addition, the Sourcebook can also be used in graduate courses on family theory and methodology.
Methods of Family Research
The Second Edition of Methods of Family Research differs from other research methods texts in a significant way - while traditional texts focus on teaching students how to produce research, this text teaches how to consume research. Written in a clear, concise style, this book introduces the basic concepts of social science research methods without getting bogged down in technical details.
Decolonizing Methodologies : Research and Indigenous Peoples
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. It targets a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. This resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena.
Documentary Research in the Social Sciences
From diaries and letters to surveys and interview transcripts, documents are a cornerstone of social science research. This book guides you through the documentary research process, from choosing the best research design, through data collection and analysis, to publishing and sharing research findings. Using extensive case studies and examples, it situates documentary research within a current context and empowers you to use this method to meet new challenges like digital research and big data head on. In a jargon-free style perfect for beginner researchers, this book helps you to: • Interrogate documentary material in meaningful ways • Choose the best research design for your project, from literature reviews to policy research • Understand a range of approaches, including quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Accessible, clear and focused, this book gives you the tools to conduct your own documentary research and celebrates the importance of documentary analysis across the social sciences.
Writing and Presenting Research
This accessible and wide-ranging book is an invaluable introductory guide through the choices to be made when deciding how to report research. Writing and Presenting Research covers research written as theses and dissertations; chapters, books, reports and articles in academic, professional or general media such as newspapers; and also reviews the options for presenting research orally as lectures, keynotes, conference papers and even TV game shows. These forms of reporting research have well-established conventions for their formats, but they also have growing numbers of alternative possibilities. This has generated debate about what is, or is not, acceptable, and the aim of this book is to make this debate more manageable for those wanting to assess which of the conventional or alternative possibilities on offer is most appropriate for reporting their current research. Arranged in easily followed sections enlivened with checklists, style variations, examples and reflection points, Writing and Presenting Research has relevance to the social sciences, arts, humanities, natural and applied sciences and law and is an invaluable reference tool for new and experienced researchers alike.
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods
This handbook provides comprehensive coverage of contemporary and developing Internet and online social research methods, spanning both quantitative and qualitative research applications.
Researchers conducting interviews in the social sciences quickly find that there is no single best way to approach their task. This text offers a critique of traditional interviewing practices and provides a framework for thinking about issues such as trustworthiness, identity, and language in a conceptual rather than technical context, allowing you to develop your own reflexive practice.
The Handbook of Narrative Analysis
Featuring contributions from leading scholars in the field, The Handbook of Narrative Analysis is the first comprehensive collection of sociolinguistic scholarship on narrative analysis to be published. Represents established modes of narrative analysis juxtaposed with innovative new methods for conducting narrative research.
What is Qualitative Interviewing?
This book makes clear the procedures and practices surrounding qualitative interviewing. Qualitative interviews are a critical part of qualitative research, but understandings of what it means to carry out interviews have shifted over time. This book provides the latest studies and practical guidance on how to cater for a broad range of research. It shows researchers and students how to begin with key questions and theories and the best interviewing tactic to take.
What is Qualitative Research?
This book invites readers to explore the nature of qualitative research, and to recognise the varied and conflicting forms it can take. It examines how these contrast with quantitative work, as well as how they differ from journalism and imaginative literature. The book describes various methodological philosophies that have shaped qualitative work, as well as different types of orientation to be found within it today. It offers clear definitions of key terms and concepts, and also a detailed exploration of recent disputes among qualitative researchers, with a view to showing how differences in practice relate to underlying commitments. This book will be a vital resource for both new and experienced researchers.
Working with Qualitative Data
Working with Qualitative Data provides a practical and accessible introduction to how to develop and apply strategies for the analysis of qualitative data by exploring the ways in which analysis is related to all aspects of research. By situating analysis in the context of the whole research process, this book helps the reader to introduce an analytical component to every stage of doing research: from designing a project, reviewing the literature, through the various stages of gathering data, to the process of writing-up. Through practical examples the book maps out strategies for developing analytic frameworks in relation to all aspects of research, and demonstrates the ways in which such frameworks can be used in relation to various sorts of data. In contrast to existing qualitative data analysis texts, this book offers a unified approach to the process of analysis within qualitative research. It will be of great use to students and researchers across the full range of social, health and education sciences.
Ethnography: A Way of Seeing
One of anthropology's leading writers on ethnographic methods, Harry Wolcott discusses the fundamental nature of ethnographic studies. Tracing its development from its disciplinary origins in sociology and anthropology, he points out what is distinctive about ethnography and what it means to conduct research in the ethnographic tradition.
Principles of Sociological Inquiry : Qualitative and Quantitative Methods
Principles of Sociological Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods emphasizes the relevance of research methods for the everyday lives of its readers, undergraduate students.