Related Guides
Background Sources
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
- Wiley Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families Written by an international team of experts, this comprehensive volume investigates modern-day family relationships, partnering, and parenting set against a backdrop of rapid social, economic, cultural, and technological change. Covers a broad range of topics, including social inequality, parenting practices, children's work, changing patterns of citizenship, multi-cultural families, and changes in welfare state protection for families.
- The Oxford Handbook of Reproductive Ethics Reproductive ethics poses many of the most controversial issues of our time. Questions about the roles, rights, and responsibilities of parents force us to think about individual autonomy, the nature of the family, and relationships between private institutions and the state. And reproduction is not only about procreators but raises deeply divisive issues about gametes, embryos, fetal issue, and the moral status of the fetus or newborn child. This volume boldly addresses these and other issues, grounding their treatment in careful and reasoned philosophical analysis.
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships Covers such diverse topics as cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, online dating, gender socialization, codependency, same-sex marriages, resilience, commuter marriages, and the history of family life within various culture.
- The Routledge Companion to Motherhood Interdisciplinary and intersectional in emphasis, the Routledge Companion to Motherhood brings together essays on current intellectual themes, issues, and debates, while also creating a foundation for future scholarship and study as the field of Motherhood Studies continues to develop globally.
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Contains over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about issues related to marriage and family, focusing on the diversity of marriage and family lifestyles in fifty countries representative of the regions of the world.
- Families in America 2015 Families in America presents a wide selection of information from the American Community Survey that helps us describe American living arrangements, relationships, marriages, births, children, and incomes. Each section includes a large selection of information for the United States, the 50 states, and the District of Columbia. This is followed by a more limited selection of data for 381 metropolitan areas, 980 counties with populations of 50,000 or more, and 795 cities with populations of 50,000 or more.
- Emerging Methods in Family Research Emerging Methods in Family Research details innovative approaches designed to keep researchers apace with the diversity and complexities of today's families. This versatile idea-book offers meaningful new ways to represent multiple forms of diversity in family structure and process, cutting-edge updates to family systems models and measurement methods, and guidance on the research process, from designing projects to analyzing findings.
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood : In History and Society This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
- Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development Intended for university and public libraries, the Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development is the major reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology. The scope of this work is to understand the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development.
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media The Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. With more than 400 entries, the two volumes of this resource cover the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact—for good and ill—on children and adolescents.
- Handbook of Marriage and the Family The Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. With more than 400 entries, the two volumes of this resource cover the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact—for good and ill—on children and adolescents.
- Encyclopedia of Adolescence The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition – with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format – serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge.
- Handbook of Families and Aging This comprehensive reference in family gerontology reviews and critiques the recent theoretical, empirical, and methodological literature; identifies future research directions; and makes recommendations for gerontology professionals.
- American Families in Crisis : a Reference Handbook An authoritative reference that helps general readers understand the varieties of crises impacting modern-day families and the intervention techniques designed to resolve them.
- Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women 's Reproductive Rights in the United. States. 2002. Arranged alphabetically by topic, articles representing racial and ethnic groups' experiences figure prominently, as do the effects of age, class, education, health, religion, and sexual preference on childbearing and -rearing practices, in and out of wedlock. It also includes articles on laws, court cases, political attitudes, prominent activists, and technological advances as they relate to reproductive rights.
