Skip to main content

Africa: Getting Started with Research

Ephemera / Pamphlet Collections

   What is ephemera or gray literature?  

Ephemera is a term given to materials that are considered to be of only temporary importance. Materials could include things like typescripts, manuscripts, memos, hand-written letters, pamphlets, etc. 

Gray literature typically includes publications such as reports (annual, research, technical, project, etc.), working papers, government documents, white papers and evaluations. Organizations that produce grey literature include government departments and agencies, civil society or non-governmental organizations, academic centres and departments, and private companies and consultants.

 

The African Studies Library has a significant collection of ephemera / gray literature / pamphlets organized by country/region and subject. Ask the African Studies Librarians to show you the collection; it's a treasure trove of information!

Poster Collection

Click below for a Guide to our Poster Collection
The posters are currently not in the BU Library Search and are not digitized. 
They do not circulate, but are available for consultation in our reading room 
and may be used in classrooms by special request. 

 

Image of posters, such as a Frelimo poster showing man with raised weapon and woman holding a piece of paper

Archival Collections at Boston University

 

  • African Presidential Center Collection
  • Nancy Schwartz Collection
  • Paula Hirsch Foster Collection
  • Walter Sangree Collection

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Dwyer
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies