Tips for Finding Articles
Articles about this subject can be found in publications from a wide variety of disciplines. Use the databases on this page to get access to thousands of articles examining the subject from different perspectives or browse the key publications shown.
If the full text of an article is not available in a database, click on the 
icon to find other options for getting the article.
Scholarly Literature Databases
These resources will help you to find scholarly geological literature, often including related disciplines like physics or geography.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window GeoRef searches journal articles in the geological sciences, including geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, and other related disciplines. Date coverage: 1693 - present for North American titles; 1933 - present for the rest of the world.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more. Date coverage: 1940 - present with selected full text from 1975 - present.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews. Date coverage: abstracts 1984 - present, selected full text 1995 - present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
Core Geological Research Journals
These highly-cited journals publish original, peer-reviewed research in geology and earth science-related disciplines.
- GeologyAvailable 1973-present
- Earth System Science DataAvailable 2009-present
- Gondwana ResearchAvailable 1997-present
- Land Degradation & DevelopmentAvailable 1996-present
- Nature GeoscienceAvailable 2009-present
- Water ResearchAvailable 1967-present
Geology Review Journals
The journals below are highly-cited review publications. Review journals synthesize the findings of original research to determine the state of research in a given area or the scientific consensus (or lack thereof) on a given topic. They do not publish original laboratory research.
- Annual Review of Earth and Planetary ScienceseAvailable 1973-present
- Earth Science ReviewsAvailable 1966-present
- Quaternary Science ReviewsAvailable 1982-present
- Reviews in Mineralogy and GeochemistryAvailable 2000-present
