Skip to main content

Classical Studies

Books

Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature.  Fred W. Jenkins. Mugar Reference XZ 7016 J4 2006.
 

Articles on Antiquity in Festschriften, An Index: The Ancient Near East, The Old Testament, Greece, Rome, Roman Law, Byzantium. Dorothy Rounds. American and European recipients from 1863 through 1954.  Mugar Library Z 6202 F62 1962.  
 

Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World.  G.W. Bowersock. Topics include the sacred landscape, barbarians and ethnicity, and Islam. Mugar Library DE 5 L29 1999.
 

Rome in the Fourth Century A.D.: An Annotated Bibliography with Historical Overview. Alden Rollins. Mugar Z 2340 R653 1991.

Websites

Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation
Maria C. Pantelia, University of California, Irvine. Comprehensive annotated directory including links to classical resources, databases and web projects, publishers and journals, bibliographical indexes, bibliographies, images, e-text archives, course materials, professional organizations, etc.

 

Resources: Research Databases and Digital Collections
American Academy in Rome.

 

Digital Library
American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

 

Perseus Digital Library. 
Gregory Crane, Editor-in-Chief, Classics Department, Tufts University. “…an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond.” Begun as a collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world, it now contains Latin texts and tools and Renaissance materials. Features include texts and translations, and art and archaeology catalogs for architecture, sites, coins, vases, and sculpture.  See Starting Points in Perseus.

 

Classical & Medieval History Annotated List of Reference Websites
Library of Congress.

 

Diotima Resources for the study of women in the ancient world.
The Bibliography has links to full text articles from JSTOR, etc.

 

Free Archaeology Databases on the Web.
Datenbank-Infosystem (DBIS)  Universitätsbibliothek Mainz

 

Librarian