Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks & Atlases
Reference materials are very useful for finding background information or overview of topics and can be great starting points for learning, synonym terms, concepts or names related to your research.
Africa by
This stunning 400-page Atlas is a unique and powerful publication which brings to light stories of environmental change at more than 100 locations spread across every country in Africa. There are more than 300 satellite images, 300 ground photographs and 150 maps, along with informative graphs and charts that give a vivid visual portrayal of Africa and its changing environment that provide scientific evidence of the impact that natural and human activities have had on the continent's environment over the past several decades. The observations and measurements of environmental change help gauge the extent of progress made by African countries towards reaching the United Nation's Millennium Development Goals. More importantly, this book contributes to the knowledge and understanding that are essential for adaptation and remediation, and should be of immense value to all those who want to know more about Africa and who care about the future of this continent
Location: G2446.G3 A37 2008ISBN: 9280728717Publication Date: 2008
Africa's Lakes by
The dramatic and, in some cases damaging environmental changes sweeping Africa's lakes are brought into sharp focus in a new atlas. Produced by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Atlas of African Lakes compares and contrasts spectacular satellite images of the past few decades with contemporary ones. The Atlas covers the rapid shrinking of Lake Songor in Ghana, partly as a result of intensive salt production, and the extraordinary changes in the Zambezi river system as a result of the building of the Cabora Basa dam site, beside more familiar images of the near 90 per cent shrinkage of Lake Chad. Other impacts, some natural and some human-made and which can only be truly appreciated from space, include the extensive deforestation around Lake Nakuru in Kenya. Satellite measurements, detailing the falling water levels of Lake Victoria are also mapped. Africa's largest freshwater lake is now about a meter lower than it was in the early 1990s.
ISBN: 9280726943Publication Date: 2006
Africa South of the Sahara.
The definitive one-volume guide to all sub-Saharan African countries, providing invaluable economic, political, statistical and directory data. General Survey Thoroughly revised and updated analytical articles written by experts on the region and covering both continent-wide and sub-regional issues. Country Surveys Individual chapters on every country incorporating: essays on the physical and social geography, recent history and economies an extensive statistical survey of economic indicators a full directory containing names, addresses and contact details for key areas such as the government, diplomatic representation, the media, finance, trade and industry, and defence a useful bibliography, providing sources for further research. Regional Information Detailed information on regional organizations; commodities; research institutes; and select bibliographies of books and periodicals. (Description, Abebooks.com)
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (DT351 .F71)Publication Date: 2021
Africa Water Atlas by
This Africa Water Atlas is a visual account of Africa's endowment and use of water resources, revealed through 224 maps and 104 satellite images as well as some 500 graphics, hundreds of compelling photos plus a brief profile of the water situation in every country. These visual elements vividly illustrate a succinct narrative describing and analysing Africa's water issues and exemplifying them through the judiciious use of case studies. The Atlas tells the paradoxical story of a continent with adequate renewable water resources, but unequal access because the water is either abundant or scarce depending on the season or the place. it explores the opportunities to develop Africa's untapped water resources and human capacities to deliver safe drinking water and sanitation services to achieve the water-related Millennium Development Goals, As well as hydropower and irrigation services that help support livelihoods and boost economic development.
ISBN: 9789280731101Publication Date: 2011
The Conservation Atlas of Tropical Forests by
"Africa's forests are being depleted at a faster rate than of any other continent. A major increase in the population growth rate began after World War II and it is now running at an annual rate of 2.9 per cent, resulting in massive demands for agricultural land, water, fuelwood and other products. There is no simple answer to environmental degradation and forest conservation must be part of a broader process of managing the landscape." "Here to address this topic is the new Conservation Atlas of Tropical Forests: Africa, the first authoritative reference work on this subject." "The second in a series this Conservation Atlas follows the format of the acclaimed Conservation Atlas of Tropical Forests: Asia and the Pacific (1991)." "Part I describes the issues, history of forests and climate, biological diversity, conservation of large mammals, and the peoples of the forests. Included are discussions of the links between population, environment and agriculture, the timber trade, protected areas system and the future for Africa's forests." "Part II of the Atlas is a country by country survey of the forests of Africa. Stunning four-color maps, in a 9 x 12 format, have been compiled from satellite and radar imagery, aerial photography, and the latest information provided by forestry departments and development agencies. Both maps and text have been prepared and reviewed by a broad spectrum of specialists. The Atlas also includes four-color photographs and sketch maps. They represent the best visual portfolio available of Africa's forests today." "For anyone interested in environmental issues, geography, forestry, development, economics, and the African region, this Atlas will be an essential resource."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0131753320Publication Date: 1992- Directory of ecologists working in the African region = Repertoire des ecologistes travaillant dans la region africaine. ; Provisional issue.. Published by Unesco's Regional Office of Science and Technology for Africa.Location: African Studies Library Reference (QH540 .U55M )Publication Date: 1975
- Directory of Environmental Information and Organisations in Southern Africa by v. 1. SADC region : Botswana, Mozambique, Zambia, Zimbabwe.ISBN: 0797416056Publication Date: 2000-01-01
- The IUCN Directory of Afro-Tropical Protected Areas by Subjects: Natural areas -- Africa, Sub-Saharan -- Directories; National parks and reserves -- Africa, Sub-Saharan -- Directories; Afrique subsaharienne; Africa, Sub-Saharan; Afrika; Africa south of the Sahara Tropical regions Conservation land; DirectoriesISBN: 2880328047Publication Date: 1986
Reference Guide to Africa by
This reference guide provides a one-stop source for African studies research mainly in the humanities and social sciences. It is intended for students, teachers, librarians, casual inquirers, and serious researchers who are delving into unknown territory.
ISBN: 081085208XPublication Date: 2005
Beginning Your Research
Helpful Hints
- Select a topic that interests you.
- Start from what you know: your class reading and lectures, what you’ve read in the media or heard in other classes.
- Do some preliminary research on your topic to determine if you can find enough information. Not too broad, but not too narrow! It’s good to check your topic before it’s too late to change.
- Familiarize yourself with the context around the topic. Whether you are researching a particular woman in African history or a particular topic,take a moment to familiarize yourself with the African countries you are looking at.
- Place and people names may vary in their spellings according to the era and the language they were written in. Some examples: Masai vs. Maasai people or Timbuctoo vs.Timbuktu
- Many places have changed names over the years; keep this in mind particularly when searching for historical materials. Ethiopia was at one time known as Abyssinia, Zimbabwe was Rhodesia, Malawi was Nyasaland, etc.
Arm yourself with as much information as possible and all possible variations of a name as you conduct your research:
It is critical in the number of results you retrieve when using the library catalog, electronic databases, and the internet.
- Identify authors who are specialists in the field, search for other works they have written.
- Whom do those authors cite? Check the bibliographies of books on your topic in order to find additional resources.
- If the topic is extremely specific, you may need to consult a variety of materials. For example, if you were researching the construction of the Aswan Dam on the Nile, you would want to search beyond books and journal articles to government documents, reports, maps, etc. When consulting books, be sure to search chapter headings and indexes to help find the information you need.
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies