Suggest a Purchase
Is there a wonderful computer science resource that you think the BU Libraries should provide? Email your purchase suggestion to JD Kotula, the computer science librarian, at jdkotula@bu.edu.
Books About Chemistry
Browse books and e-books in the BU collections on:
Or, search for books on another topic, using BU Libraries Search.
Chemistry E-Books
You can find e-books in our collection using BU Libraries Search as you would any other item, but you can also browse specific e-book collections by topic. These databases provide full-text access to e-books about chemistry, materials science, nanotechnology, and related topics.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new window eBook Central provides a wide variety of eBook titles from publishers across many disciplines.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released).
- SpringerLink eBooks This link opens in a new window The SpringerLink eBooks database contains the full-text of over 45,000 eBooks, the majority of them related to engineering and computer science. There are also books on other topics, including medicine, mathematics, life sciences, and the social sciences. Previews of hundreds of additional titles are also available. Most titles are in English but some books in other languages are also included.
Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
