Tips for Finding Articles
Articles about this subject can be found in publications from a wide variety of disciplines. Use the databases on this page to get access to thousands of articles examining the subject from different perspectives or browse the key publications shown.
If the full text of an article is not available in a database, click on the 
icon to find other options for getting the article.
Scholarly Literature Databases
SciFinder is most likely the best tool for finding scholarly chemical literature, but you may find the other listed databases helpful (especially in interdisciplinary research).
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window SciFinder-n is the premier chemical information source, consisting of chemical data, manufacturing information, patents, and citations to scholarly literature. Chemical structure searching is available via a drawing tool.To use SciFinder-n, you must create an account using your BU email address.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subjects includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
Core Chemistry Research Journals
These highly-cited journals publish original, peer-reviewed research in chemistry and chemistry-related disciplines.
- Journal of the American Chemical SocietyAvailable 1879-present
- Molecular CellAvailable 1997-present
- Nature ChemistryAvailable 2010-present
- Nature MaterialsAvailable 2009-present
- Nature Structural & Molecular BiologyAvailable 2004-present
Chemistry Review Journals
The journals below are highly-cited review publications. Review journals synthesize the findings of original research to determine the state of research in a given area or the scientific consensus (or lack thereof) on a given topic. They do not publish original laboratory research.
- Accounts of Chemical ResearchAvailable 1968-present
- Annual Review of BiochemistryAvailable 1932-present
- Annual Review of Physical ChemistryAvailable 1950-present
- Chemical Society ReviewsAvailable 1972-present
