About This Guide
This research guide is intended for anyone doing research in financial investing. It includes general investing sources such as handbooks and directories, periodicals, and financial news websites, as well as economic forecasting, international investing, and socially responsible investing resources. Additionally, the guide includes a wide array of information on various investing instruments, such as stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and commodities. In the “Stock” section, you will find stock links, investment services for company and industry information, stock exchanges, and historic stock prices. The resources include websites, electronic databases, print periodicals, and books from the libraries’ collection.
Top Sources
- Bloomberg Business News Service This link opens in a new window Bloomberg Business News Service provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Records includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives. Much of the information can be presented graphically. Only available through the Bloomberg Terminal at Pardee Library (no remote access).
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window In-depth company information and financials for international public companies. Allows you to export financials into Excel and create company comparisons using ratios and other financial metrics. Good source for annual reports and company 10K’s. Provides access to research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Click on the Investext tab to access the analyst reports.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Investext This link opens in a new windowInvestext (available through Mergent Online) provides research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Includes both current and historical reports. Please see the Resources for Analyst Reports Tutorial for further assistance.
