Physical & Online Sources
Please note that this guide may include pointers to some physical resources in the Boston University Libraries that are not accessible to some or all users due to the person's location or due to access changes put in place during the COVID-19 pandemic. For additional help, contact the guide author or get general help at https://askalibrarian.bu.edu
Dictionaries, General Works
- English-IsiZulu / IsiZulu-English Dictionary by This is the fourth edition of the first English-Zulu/Zulu-English dictionary to be developed in South Africa, originated by leading academics and writers. The first combined edition was published in 1990, and the book has been in print continuously since then. The development of the Zulu-English dictionary began in the 1940s by Wits University lecturers C. M. Doke and B. W. Vilakazi, and the English-Zulu dictionary was originally published in 1958 by Doke, D. M. Malcolm, and J. M. A. Sikakana. The English-isiZulu / isiZulu-English Dictionary remains the definitive dictionary in these languages. This new edition contains updated orthography to meet the 2008 guidelines set by the Pan South African Language Board (PanSALB) and has been digitally captured and retypeset in order to make it more user friendly.ISBN: 9781868147380Publication Date: 2014
- The concise multilingual dictionary : English, Xhosa, Zulu, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Tswana, Afrikaans ; 1. ed.. byISBN: 0868522058Publication Date: 1995
- English-Zulu Zulu-English Dictionary by This is the original and first Zulu-English dictionary to be developed in South Africa. The originators of the dictionary were all leading academics and writers. The development of the Zulu-English dictionary was begun in the 1940s by Wits University lecturers, C. M. Doke and B. W. Vilakazi. Vilakazi, who died in 1947, was the first published Zulu poet and his collection, Amal’eZulu, is listed in the Top 100 African Books of the 20th century. The English-Zulu dictionary was published in 1958 by Doke, Malcolm, and Sikakana. The first combined edition of the two dictionaries (i.e. the present format) was published in 1990. The English-Zulu / Zulu English Dictionary is still the definitive dictionary in these languages. Various revisions have been undertaken over the years to bring the orthography up to date. A new preface, written by Professor J. Khumalo, was added in 1990 and provides an update to the phonological tone markings originally indicated by Vilakazi.ISBN: 1868141608Publication Date: 1990
- Compact Zulu dictionary : English-Zulu, Zulu-English ; 4th ed.. byISBN: 0869858572Publication Date: 1985
- Zulu-English dictionary, ; 4th authorised ed., rev. and enl., byPublication Date: 1967
- An English-Zulu Dictionary: With the Principles of Pronunciation and Classification Fully Explained byLocation: Online or Print; PL8843.E95Publication Date: 1895
Online Dictionaries
- IsiZulu.Net isiZulu.net is an attempt to build a reasonably useful, modern Zulu-English online dictionary that anyone can contribute to. Besides the usual bidirectional lookups it offers automatic morphological decomposition, conjugation and phonetic spelling of Zulu words, translation of simple Zulu and English phrases, spell checking, and grammar and pronunciation basics.
- Freelang Zulu-English dictionary Download our free dictionary (for Windows or Android) and browse both the Zulu-English and the English-Zulu lists. Look up a word, add or modify an entry, and learn words at your own rhythm from a personal learning list
Subject Specific Vocabularies
- Plants of South Africa Online database of South African plants; provides scientific name, image and name of plants in various African languages where they are found regionally.
- English to Zulu Medical Dictionary, Jason Wolfe Contains terms and phrases
- A handbook to aid in the treatment of Zulu patients, for doctors, nurses, medical students, pharmacists, and administrative staff (1959?) Campbell, G. D. ; H. C Lugg ; 1959? Pietermaritzburg, Natal University Press Available at Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (R121 .C22 )
Browse the BU Library Catalog:
Word/Phrase Books & Basic Textbooks
Browse the BU Library Catalog for Phrase or Word books
Select titles:
- An Easy Zulu Vocabulary and Phrase BookPublication Date: 1989
- A handbook of the Zulu language ; 1st ed. byPublication Date: 1985
- The Zulu companion; offered to the Natal colonist. byPublication Date: 1850
Grammar & Linguistics
- Isizulu soqobo : ibanga 5 by "First in a series of Zulu language manuals for post-primary schools (standard 5)."--T.p. verso.ISBN: 9780949987198Publication Date: 1986
- Isizulu soqobo : ibanga 8 by "Fourth in a series of Zulu language manuals for post-primary schools (standard 8)."--T.p. verso.Publication Date: 1986
- Learn Zulu ; 4th rev. and enl. ed.. . byPublication Date: 1979, ©1972
Handbooks
- A handbook of the Zulu language ; 1st ed. byPublication Date: 1985
Zulu Language Learning Sites
- BU’s Geddes Language Center AV Web
- BU’s 200 Words (African Language Project) interactive website for learning vocabulary words.
- Internet Archive varied texts.
- Zulu learner’s reference guide by Matt Williams
- Ipheji labakhuluma isiZulu. isiZulu website, with discussion board.
- eLanguage isiZulu site Multimedia (images, sounds) isiZulu learning site.
- Omniglot
- African Languages
- Online Zulu Quizzes
- The Language Gulper: Zulu -- an introduction to Zulu, with basic vocabulary & orthography
Proverbs, Parables & Folklore.
- Storytelling Songs of Zulu Women by Presents a study of two Zulu women, storytellers, one who performed stories in 1868, the other in 1972. These two African women, whose stories, in their similarities and variations, provide insights into the nature of stories and the evolving of stories from one generation to the next.ISBN: 9780773457416Publication Date: 2006-08-01
- Indaba, my children. byPublication Date: 1964
Reading primers & other light reading materials
Literature
Select titles:
- Inqolobane yesizwe ; 4th ed. byISBN: 9780796009760
- South African voices byISBN: 9781893311688
- Insumansumane byISBN: 0854948511
- Uvivi Lokusa : iqoqo lezinkodlo elihlelwe yilaba byISBN: 9780702113628
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies