Industry Surveys
Get an overview of how an industry operates, the trends, and more.
Go to: the Industry Survey Locator - A database of industry surveys that appear in databases and other reference materials. A good first place to check for industry surveys and overviews.
Many Online Databases are included in the Locator:
- MarketLine Industry Profiles This link opens in a new windowMarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry snapshots include statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Hoover's Industry Snapshots This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 600 industry snapshots from Hoovers Company and Industry Reports via Nexis Uni. The snapshots include the following industry information or links to relevant information: Description; Terminology; Associations & Organizations and Selected Resources.
The databases listed below are not available in the Industry Survey Locator, but will be very helpful for finding information on technology and healthcare industries:
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new windowFrost & Sullivan is a well known information technology research and advisory company. Frost & Sullivan reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy and manufacturing related fields. Please note that most reports can only be viewed in html form. If you would like access to a report in PDF format and you are unable to access it, please send an email to pardstf@bu.edu.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowGartner, Inc. is a well-known information technology research and advisory company that provides insights to help clients make informed decisions related to information technology. Reports contain research findings and advice on technology markets, topics, and industries. Gartner Research is provided to the BU community through BU’s Information Services and Technology’s subscription. Log in to the website using your BU login name and Kerberos password.
Industry Articles
Search for articles about industry trends and performance:
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowCurrent news from over a thousand business magazines and trade journals. Includes Wall Street Journal.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete contains indexes, abstracts and full text of business publications, scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Among the sources covered in this database are EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) country economic reports, company profiles and industry profiles from MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor), and monographs.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowCurrent news from thousands of international newspapers, newswires and trade journals. Includes Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Industry Financial Ratios
- eStatement studies This link opens in a new windowContains composite financial data from over 250,000 anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in industries. Designed to be particularly useful to lending and credit risk professionals who want to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.
IRS Corporate Financial RatiosLocation: Pardee Reserve- Reference HF5681.R25 I72The latest copy is at the Pardee Services Desk on the Reserve-Reference (High Use) shelves.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial RatiosLocation: Pardee Reserve- Reference HF5681.R25 T68Financial ratios for over 170 lines of business. Organized by NAICS code. Source of data is U.S. Federal tax returns. The latest copy is at the Pardee Services Desk on the Reserve-Reference (High Use) shelves.
Industry Norms and Key Business RatiosLocation: Pardee Reserve- Reference HD2771 .I53Published annually by Dun & Bradstreet. Financial ratios for over 600 lines of business. Organized by SIC code. Data is provided by D&B’s financial information sources. The latest copy is at the Pardee Services Desk on the Reserve-Reference (High Use) shelves.
Distribution Channels
- Industry Survey Locator This link opens in a new windowOrganized by library staff to help find Industry Overviews and Trends. See the following sources for distribution and supply chain information:
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry snapshots include statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowIndustry snapshots include statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry.
Company 10K in
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowFind the 10K, from a public company of your relevant industry, by looking for SEC Filings in the Company Annual and Financial Reports guide.
Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Location: Pardee Reserve - Reference HD9723 .M365Volume 3 includes information on a variety of retail and wholesale operations. Ranks establishments by sales. Organized by NAICS code. The latest copy is at the Pardee Services Desk on the Reserve-Reference (High Use) shelves.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowUse ‘Custom Search’ to create lists of retail or wholesale companies by product name, SIC or NAICS code, and geographical area. For help, see tutorial listed below:
SIC/NAICS Codes
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowSelect the Business link on the Company Details tab to find the SIC/NAICS code for the industry your company is in. The primary and secondary codes are given.
Help in searching for SIC/NAICS codes:
- Census DataAccess data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
- U.S. Census NAICS-SIC Concordance TablesFind your NAICS code, and you will find the corresponding SIC code. Click on Concordances located under Reference Files.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) SearchSearch by keyword to find the NAICS code for the industry you are researching. Includes 2017, 2012 and 2007 NAICS codes.
- Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) SearchSearch by keyword to find the SIC code for the industry you are researching.
Trade Associations
- Industry Survey Locator This link opens in a new windowOrganized by library staff to help find industry overviews and trends. Many industry overviews contain trade association information.
For additional industry resources, see Industry Information Sources.
