Company Descriptions
For current articles on company working conditions, employment policies, etc., see the databases below:
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new windowTracks the social, environmental and governance of corporations throughout the world.
The Vault Career Library (now Firsthand) includes descriptions of working conditions in companies. For access, see the BU Career link.
Other sources for company background: Company 10K reports include some corporate structure and employee benefit information. See also SEC Filings through Mergent Online or directly through EDGAR (U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission).
See also: Company Annual & Financial Reports Research Guide and Company Information Sources.
- International Directory of Company HistoriesComprehensive descriptions of U.S. and international companies including company histories and current operations. Public and private companies and non-profit organizations are included. Location of print volumes: Pardee Reference: HD2721 I63. For online access, see Gale Business Insights: Essentials, described below.
- Gale Business Insights: EssentialsFor company histories/descriptions, select the Companies tab then Company Histories.
