Skip to main content

e-Books

Tips for Use of e-Books

Each e-Book collection has different limitations and capabilities with regard to user access, printing, downloading, and annotating. The following guide provides brief information about some of the major subscription e-Book databases. Links to more extensive information is provided when available.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

  • User access is unlimited
  • Print: Choose the PDF page view option. 10 pages can be printed at a time
  • Download: 10 pages can be downloaded at a time
  • Annotation: Not available at this time

 

ARTFL

  • Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Print: unlimited
  • Download: unavailable

Cambridge Companions

  • Users may access, search and view individual chapters for personal use only. Print, copy and download permissions may vary from collection to collection depending on the sensitivity and rights available for the content. Unless otherwise stated below, users may make copies, printed or otherwise, of one chapter or up to 5% of the pages from each CCO title, whichever is the greater.

ProQuest Ebook Central

  • User Access varies by the book. There may be unlimited concurrent access for some books and others may be limited to 1-3 users.
  • Print: Limitations vary by the book. The limitations are clearly noted on the cover page of the book.
  • Download: Limitations vary by the book. The limitations are clearly noted on the cover page of the book. Downloading is available for desktop, laptop, tablet, and phone.
  • Annotation: Available    Highlighting and annotation tips.

Proquest Ebook Central Help

 

Ebsco e-Book Collection

  • User access varies by title. Some may allow unlimited concurrent access while others limit concurrent access to 1-3 users.
  • Print: Up to 100 pages may be printed but limitations vary by title.
  • Download: Limitations vary by title. Must create an Ebsco Account to download offline. Available for desktop, laptop, tablet, and phone.
  • Annotation: available

EBSCO Help

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

  •  A user may download up to 250 pages at a time. This will accommodate approximately 75% of the works in ECCO through a single download. For larger works, the user is able to download the entire work, but will need to do so via two separate downloads, indicating the required page ranges.

 

ENGnetBASE

  • May read online or download  the content of the book on any device and print one or more copies of the content for personal, non-commercial use only.

 

MITCogNet

  • Download articles, chapters, and other similar quantities of such material for personal use, and archive similar quantities of such material on his/her own personal computer. Note: the purpose of this is to enable research-driven, as-needed downloading. This means (among other things) that bulk downloading is expressly forbidden, as is serial or cumulative downloading that results in a Member reproducing on his or her computer, in effect, all or any substantial subset of any journal issue or book or other work contained on CogNet.
  • Print out journal articles, chapters of books, and other similar quantities of such material for personal use. As above, bulk printing and serial printing that results in the user reproducing all or any substantial subset of any journal issue or book or other work contained on CogNet are not allowed.
  • Send one copy of any article, chapter, and other similar quantity of material by email, hard copy, or fax to one person at another location for that individual's personal use as above. This means (among other things) that bulk forwarding is expressly forbidden, as is serial or cumulative forwarding that results in a third person's reproducing on his or her computer, in effect, all or any substantial subset of CogNet.
  • Make traditional scholarly re-use of material within the bounds of fair use.

Oxford Scholarship Online

  • Downloading and printing are unlimited but must be done a chapter at a time. Downloading requires the user to set up a free account.

Project Muse

  • Allows unlimited downloading and printing of book chapter PDF files.
  • Accessible on any mobile device with a web browser, such as an IPhone or IPad.

SpringerLink e-Books

  • Unlimited downloading by chapter to any device
  • Unlimited printing after downloading by chapter

Librarian

Meredith Kirkpatrick's picture
Meredith Kirkpatrick
Contact:
meredith@bu.edu
Mugar Library
771 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
617-358-3956