Skip to Main Content
The gun debate: an encyclopedia of gun control & gun rights in the United States
With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this book combines history with current events. At issue are fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, and the control of violence and national security. Contains over three hundred entries, covering topics such as gun laws and legislation, mass shootings and gun incidents, and information from both groups who support gun rights and those who advocate for stricter gun control.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law. 2nd ed. 2012.
With over 100 new entries, the latest edition of Guns in American Society is the most current resource available on all aspects of the gun issue, including rates of violence, gun control, gun rights, regulations and legislation, court decisions, pro- and anti-gun organizations, gun ownership, hunters and collectors, public opinion toward guns, and much more.
Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook
This book offers concise, understandable coverage of all aspects of the issue, including incidence of gun violence; gun control; gun rights; government regulation, legislation, and court decisions; gun organizations (for gun control and for gun rights); gun enthusiast subcultures--for example, hunters, target shooters, and collectors; and U.S. attitudes toward guns.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America (Hein Online)
This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided.
The Wiley handbook of the psychology of mass shootings
The Wiley Handbook of the Psychology of Mass Shootings gathers together the latest insights from research and practice in one timely and much-needed reference work. The first full-length academic examination of mass shootings from a psychological perspective. Covers a broad range of topics, including the psychology of perpetrators, the role of the media, psychological considerations and clinical interventions for affected individuals, prevention, ethical issues, and areas for future research.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights
Providing 300-plus entries of in-depth coverage (each entry is from 700 to 1,000 words), this encyclopedia is exceptional for its unbiased approach to this controversial issue. Arranged in an A-Z format with numerous cross-references, this encyclopedia is especially easy to use.
Gun politics in America : historical and modern documents in context
Covering the history of firearms and gun control in America, this two-volume work presents original documents and helps readers understand these documents in relation to the social and political context in which they were written.