LGBTQ Equality by State (Movement Advancement Project)
The Movement Advancement Project (MAP) tracks over 50 different LGBTQ-related laws and policies. This map shows the overall policy tallies (as distinct from sexual orientation or gender identity tallies) for each state, the District of Columbia, and the five populated U.S. territories.
EQUALDEX: Explore the Progress of LGBTQ+ Rights Across the World
Equaldex is a collaborative knowledge base for the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) movement. The site aims to crowdsource every law related to LGBT rights to provide a comprehensive and global view of the LGBT rights movement.
Number of Elected LGBTQ Officials Worldwide (Queer Politics at Princeton)
Our searchable map and database includes all out LGBTQI+ elected officials since 1976. We include officials who publicly identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, transgender, non-binary, gender-non-conforming, queer or intersex. We focus on national and state level: Member of Parliament (MPs), Senators, Cabinet Ministers, Members of the European Parliament, State and Provincial legislators, Governors, and Mayors but not councillors or lower level elected officials.
Generations: A Study of the Life and Health of LGB People in a Changing Society, United States, 2016-2019 (ICPSR 37166)
he Generations study is a five-year study designed to examine health and well-being across three generations of lesbians, gay men, and bisexuals (LGB). The study explored identity, stress, health outcomes, and health care and services utilization among LGBs in three generations of adults who came of age during different historical contexts. This collection includes baseline, wave 1, and wave 2 data collected as part of the Generations study.
Social Justice Sexuality Project: 2010 National Survey, including Puerto Rico (ICPSR 34363)
The Social Justice Sexuality Project (SJS) is one of the largest national surveys of Black, Latina/o, Asian and Pacific Islander, and multiracial lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people. With over 5,000 respondents, the final sample includes respondents from all 50 states; Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico; in rural and suburban areas, in addition to large urban areas; and from a variety of ages, racial/ethnic identities, sexual orientations, and gender identities. The purpose of
National Transgender Discrimination Survey, [United States], 2008-2009 (ICPSR 37888)
This study brings to light what is both patently obvious and far too often dismissed from the human rights agenda. Transgender and gender non-conforming people face injustice at every turn: in childhood homes, in school systems that promise to shelter and educate, in harsh and exclusionary workplaces, at the grocery store, the hotel front desk, in doctors' offices and emergency rooms, before judges and at the hands of landlords, police officers, health care workers, and other service
Mapping LGBTQ Equality: 2010 to 2020, United States (ICPSR 37877)
Mapping LGBTQ Equality: 2010 to 2020 presented the status of LGBTQ equality at the U.S. state level by examining a policy tally by the Movement Advancement Project (MAP), and encompassed nearly 40 LGBTQ-related laws and policies across all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the five U.S. territories as of January 1, 2020. The report also compared the January 1, 2020 status of LGBTQ policy landscape to the status of those same laws as of January 1, 2010.
TransPop, United States, 2016-2018 (ICPSR 37938)
The TransPop study is the first national probability sample of transgender individuals in the United States (it also includes a comparative cisgender sample). A primary goal of this study was to provide researchers with a representative sample of transgender people in the United States. The study examines a variety of health-relevant domains including health outcomes and health behaviors, experiences with interpersonal and institutional discrimination, identity, transition-related experiences, and basic demographic characteristics (age, race/ethnicity, religion, political party affiliation, marital status, employment, income, location, sex, gender, and education).
2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) (ICPSR 37229)
The 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) was conducted by the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) to examine the experiences of transgender adults in the United States.
The Criminalization of LGBQ/GNCT Youth, California, 2014 (ICPSR 37001)
The researchers examined sexual-orientation and gender conformity disparities in criminalization for prostitution. The specific purpose of this study was to explore the links between family rejection, homelessness, child welfare involvement, and prostitution charges for youth in the justice system.
Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law: US & State Data
Our data interactives provide information on LGBT people in the United States in a dynamic and customizable visual format.
Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) : Gender Identity, Sexual Behaviour, Sexual Orientation
The Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) studies on Gender Identity, Sexual Behaviour, Sexual Orientation in the CESSDA Data Catalogue.
Resources for Research on Gender Identity, Sexual Behavior, and Sexual Orientation (ICPSR)
Here you'll find data resources for those interested in studying gender identity, sexual behavior, and sexual orientation, or in finding datasets in which those populations are well-represented. We include data resources available at ICPSR and elsewhere. For instance, you'll find data from studies that focus on these populations and data from broader studies that contain questions that enable researchers to identify participants in these populations.
About 5% of young adults in the U.S. say their gender is different from their sex assigned at birth (Pew Research Center)
At a time when transgender and nonbinary Americans are gaining visibility in the media and among the public, a new Pew Research Center survey finds that 1.6% of U.S. adults are transgender or nonbinary – that is, their gender differs from the sex they were assigned at birth.
Attitudes about transgender issues vary widely among Christians, religious ‘nones’ in U.S. (Pew Research Center)
Growing shares of Americans believe that a person’s gender is determined by their sex assigned at birth, according to a new Pew Research Center survey, which finds major differences by religion on this question and others about transgender issues.
Americans’ Complex Views on Gender Identity and Transgender Issues (Pew Research Center)
Most favor protecting trans people from discrimination, but
fewer support policies related to medical care for gender transitions; many are uneasy with the pace of change on trans issues