Skip to Main Content
Featured Open-Access Textbook
LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook
This textbook is designed to provide an introduction to and an overview of LGBTQ+ Studies for the introductory level college student and the curious public.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline)
LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time"
The Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies
This Companion provides a guide to queer inquiry in literary and cultural studies. The essays represent new and emerging areas, including transgender studies, indigenous studies, disability studies, queer of color critique, performance studies, and studies of digital culture.
A companion to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies is the first single-volume survey of current discussions taking place in this rapidly developing area of study. The Companion breaks new ground for scholarship on gender and sexuality.
Transgender : a reference handbook
Transgender: A Reference Handbook is a go-to resource about the transgender experience. The book takes contemporary as well as historic aspects into consideration. It looks at ancient indigenous cultures that honored third, fourth, and fifth gender identities as well as more contemporary ideas of what "transgender" means. Notably, it focuses not only on Western medical ideas of gender affirmation but on cultural diversity surrounding the topic. This book will primarily serve as a reference guide and jumping off point for further research for those seeking information about what it means to be transgender
Sex and Gender: A Reference Handbook
Readers of this reference book will examine a number of important current issues relating to sex and gender, such as transgenderism, gender dysphoria, same-sex attraction, the development of gender roles, the changing perspectives on these topics, and other controversial and unresolved issues in American society today. The book also includes a Data and Documents chapter that contains laws, courts cases, and other primary documents that relate to current issues involving sex and gender.
Battleground : Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality helps readers navigate contemporary issues and debates pertaining to women's lives in the United States and globally. This work examines how science and culture intertwine to influence how we think about our identities, desires, relationships, and societal roles today. It comprises lengthy, in-depth discussions of the most timely issues that are debated in today's culture, such as, birth control, comparable worth, disability and gender, glass ceiling, immigration, plastic surgery, tattooing, and piercing, same-sex marriage, and sexual assault and sexual harrassment.
The A to Z of the lesbian liberation movement still the rage
The A to Z of the Lesbian Liberation Movement: Still the Rage is a comprehensive overview and resource guide for one of the most invisible social political movements: the Lesbian Liberation Movement.
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice
Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities’ patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will breaks new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work.
glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
The glbtq project was founded in 2000 to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The site closed in 2015 and is archived.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours.
Historical dictionary of the lesbian and gay liberation movements
The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.
The Dictionary of Homophobia : A Global History of Gay & Lesbian Experience
A comprehensive, global history of homophobia, available in English for the first time.