Skip to main content

Language Learning: Igbo

This Guide is intended to assist in learning the Igbo language and culture of Igbo speaking people.

Getting Items Not Available at BU Libraries

Even if BU Libraries doesn't own something you need for your studies, we can get it for you pretty quickly from another library.

  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Interlibrary Loan is a service that allows current BU students, faculty, and staff to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials from other libraries. Visit our Interlibrary Loan page to find forms to request items.
  • BU Libraries Search and WorldCat Discovery. You can look an item up on BU Libraries Search or you can use an external search, like WorldCat Discovery, which will offer you a link to "Find@BU" and this will bring you to BU Libraries Search. When you log in to request the item, some of the item's information will pre-populate in the ILL form for you.

Want to borrow an item in person?

  • Books from Boston College, Northeastern, and Brandeis. Books can be borrowed from the libraries of these three institutions using your Terrier card.
  • Boston Library Consortium (BLC) Card​s. A BLC Card allows you to borrow circulating material from member libraries, just as you would from BU Libraries. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates should apply at the Alumni Medical Library. 

Dictionaries & Glossaries ..

Free Online Fulltext Dictionaries:

Free Online Machine Translation tools:

 

Dictionaries in the market or in other libraries (currently not in BU libraries collection.) Click here to request InterLibrary Loan from another library.

Modern Igbo DictionaryModern Igbo Dictionary: Igbo-English, English-Igbo (kasahorow English Igbo)
by kasahorow (Author)
CreateSpace Independent Publishing; 2014
 

AwdeN-Igbo English Dictionary  Igbo-English English-Igbo Dictionary and Phrasebook.
[By] Nicholas Awde & Onyakechi Wambu.
Hippocrene Books; Poc edition (May 1, 1999).
Currently not in BU libraries collection. Click here to request InterLibrary Loan from another library.

Bocker--a-comprehensive-dictionary-of-the-igbo-languageIgbo-English Dictionary : A Comprehensive Dictionary of the Igbo Language, with an English-Igbo Index.
Michael J. C. Echeruo.
[New Haven]: Yale University Press; 1998.

Basic learner's & Word/Phrase books

 

 

Find more Igbo basic learners' books in BU Libraries collection

 

Igbo Proverbs, Parables & Folklore.

 

Find more books in BU Libraries collection on:

 

Reading primers & other light reading materials

 

Find more Igbo language readers in BU Libraries collection.

 

Find Free Online Igbo language readers from Africa Storybook project.