Related Guides
Background Sources
- Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption.
- A Companion to Urban Anthropology A Companion to Urban Anthropology presents a collection of original essays from international scholars on key issues in urban anthropology and broader cross-disciplinary urban studies. Features newly commissioned essays from 35 leading international scholars in urban and global studies Includes essays in classic areas of concern to urban anthropologists such as built structures and urban planning, community, security, markets, and race. Covers emergent areas in the field including: 21st-century cities borders, citizenship, sustainability, and urban sexualities.
- The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology This Handbook contains 50 interdisciplinary contributions from leading academics and practitioners from across the world to provide an in-depth coverage of the main elements of practical urban ecology. It is divided into six parts, dealing with the philosophies, concepts and history of urban ecology; followed by consideration of the biophysical character of the urban environment and the diverse habitats found within it.
- Routledge Handbook of Landscape and Food This volume brings together over fifty contributors from around the world in forty profoundly interdisciplinary chapters. Chapter authors represent an astonishing range of disciplines, from agronomy, anthropology, archaeology, conservation, countryside management, cultural studies, ecology, ethics, geography, heritage studies, landscape architecture, landscape management and planning, literature, urban design and architecture.
- "Urban Agriculture," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics Urban agriculture is defined as the production of food and nonfood items through cultivation of plants, tree crop, aquaculture, and animal husbandry within urban and peri-urban areas. It also involves the processing and distribution of a diversity of foods and nonfood products, using large amounts of human and material resources, products, and services found in and around those areas.
- Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples.
- From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" diseases.
- The New Blackwell Companion to the City This book considers the state of the city and contemporary urbanisation from a range of intellectual and international perspectives.
- "An exploratory study of food deserts in Utica, Mississippi." in Research Handbook on Community Development In the deep Southern state of Mississippi, the small town of Utica historically and currently is predominantly rural and is one such locale, which has been identified as having all the common characteristics of a food desert.
