Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics This Handbook provides a sample of recent philosophical work in food ethics. This philosophical work addresses ethical issues with agricultural production, the structure of the global food system, the ethics of personal food consumption, the ethics of food policy, and cultural understandings of food and eating, among other issues.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- "Food and Ethical Consumption," in The Oxford Handbook of Food History he article first discusses vegetarianism and veganism before turning to animal welfare, local consumption, organic foods, food products that are free of genetically modified organisms, food miles and sustainable/green products, boycotts and cause-related marketing, fair trade, and overconsumption and freeganism.
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption.
- They Eat That? A Cultural Encyclopedia of Weird and Exotic Food from Around the World The title They Eat That?: A Cultural Encyclopedia of Weird and Exotic Food from around the World says it all. This fun encyclopedia, organized A-Z, describes and offers cultural context for foodstuffs people eat today that might be described as "weird"--at least to the American palate.
- The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Animal Ethics The ethical treatment of non-human animals is an increasingly significant issue, directly affecting how people share the planet with other creatures and visualize themselves within the natural world. The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Animal Ethics looks specifically at the role religion plays in the formation of ethics around these concerns.
- The Oxford Handbook of Animal Ethics Humans encounter and use animals in a stunning number of ways. The nature of these animals and the justifiability or unjustifiabilitly of human uses of them are the subject matter of this volume. The Oxford Handbook of Animal Ethics is designed to capture the nature of the questions as they stand today and to propose solutions to many of the major problems.
- Food Ethics Education This book provides support for development of a course in ethics for food studies education.
- "Moral vegetarianism," in The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The topic of this entry is moral vegetarianism and the arguments for it. Strikingly, most contemporary arguments for moral vegetarianism start with premises about the wrongness of producing meat and move to conclusions about the wrongness of consuming it
- "The moral status of animals," in The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Is there something distinctive about humanity that justifies the idea that humans have moral status while non-humans do not? Providing an answer to this question has become increasingly important among philosophers as well as those outside of philosophy who are interested in our treatment of non-human animals
