Career Guides
- FirstHand (formerly Vault)Access provided by Boston University Career Center. Registration is required for first time users. Follow these steps to create your account:
1. Go to Firsthand and click "Get Started".
2. Click on “Register now” at the bottom of the box. Enter your BU email address on the next page. Complete the registration process and then click “Create Account” to get started.
3. Click on the link Firsthand e-mails you to confirm your email address (this can take several minutes to process). Note: Firsthand will send you a follow up email to “complete your profile.” This is not required, and completely optional.
Excellent resource on what it can be like to work within an industry, company, or profession.
How to Find the Vault Guides and Rankings:
Vault Guides are under “The Library.” Select The Library tab on the left side of the page, and you’ll see a link for Guides in the top navigation bar.
Vault Rankings are under “Careers.” Select the Careers tab on the left side of the page to see rankings in various fields.
The Careers tab also includes FirstHand Industries and Professions which include Industry profiles and Profession profiles.
- First Research Industry Reports This link opens in a new windowIndustry reports with Career focus. Includes overview, sales & marketing, finance & regulation, regional & international issues, human resources, and statistics for over 100 industries. Additionally, contains quarterly industry updates, business challenges, trends & opportunities, call preparation questions, and ratios.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookIndustry guide from the U.S. Department of Labor includes descriptions of myriad jobs. Includes the nature of the work, required training, job outlook, and earnings.
For in-depth industry Information, see Industry Information Sources.
Company Directories
- Company Dossier through Nexis UniIn the Company Dossier box, click on “Create a Company List” to create a list of international or U.S. companies by industry, geographic area and revenue. Rank U.S. companies by sales.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings. For help, see tutorial listed below:
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowClick on 'Quick Screener' under Screening tab (top toolbar) to search companies by Industry, Geography, and keyword (in Business Description).
For in-depth company Information, see Company Information Sources.
Books
Health IT Jumpstart by
IT professionals can learn how to launch a career in health information technology Government regulation is mandating that all physician practices, hospitals, labs, etc. move to electronic health records (EHR) by 2014, which, in turn, will create a demand for IT professionals to help medical facilities make this transition as smooth as possible. This book helps IT professionals make the move into health information technology (HIT) and shows you how EHRs can be securely created, maintained, distributed, and backed up under government regulations. The author duo is a pair of HIT experts who understand how medical data works and willingly share their expertise with you so that you can best serve this emerging, evolving market. You'll quickly benefit from using this book as your first step to understanding and preparing for a job in HIT. Opens the door to researching how to make the move from IT to the up-and-coming field of health information technology (HIT) Guides you through the four aspects of HIT: government regulation and funding, operational workflow, clinical understanding, and the technology that ties it all together Prepares you for the healthcare market with a roadmap of understandable advice that escorts you through complex government information Pares down the extraneous material and delivers the need-to-know information on securely maintaining electronic health records Jump into the up-and-coming world of health IT with this helpful and insightful book.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011
Careers in Health Information Technology by
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can workohospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and trainingoalong with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker itipsi throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekersExplores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within themDetails education requirements and quickest pathways to attain themIncludes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughoutPresents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
