Books on Nonprofits and Public Sector
The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020This book brings together leading researchers--economists, historians, philosophers, political scientists, and sociologists along with scholars from communication, education, law, management, and policy schools--to investigate the impact of nonprofit on the world today.
Nonprofit Law: The Life Cycle of a Charitable Organization by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021Provides up-to-date information about the legal issues that can arise at every turn of a Section 501(c)(3) organization—from inception to termination.
Leadership Standpoints: A Practical Framework for the Next Generation of Nonprofit Leaders by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021This project offers a new leadership framework for the next generation of nonprofit professionals. Based on five years of data collected from the New York Community Trust Leadership Fellowship, it constructs three dimensions and eleven themes for the theory and practice of leadership standpoints.
Research Handbook on Nonprofit Governance by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021This multi-perspective Research Handbook provides a clear pathway through the nonprofit governance research field, pushing beyond the borders of current theory to expand and deepen the analytical framework for nonprofit governance.
Data for Social Good: Non-Profit Sector Data Projects by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023This open access book provides practical guidance for non-profits and community sector organisations about how to get started with data analytics projects using their own organisations' datasets and open public data. The book shares best practices on collaborative social data projects and methodology- Marketing for Nonprofit Organizations: Insights and Innovations (Second Edition) by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2021a comprehensive overview of the marketing process written specifically for nonprofit and social impact organizations. This book covers topics important to nonprofit professionals: branding; target audience selection; strategy; promotional tactics, including social media; and marketing evaluation.
BU Libraries Search
Find more books and e-books in BU Libraries Search. Recommended search terms include:
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
Trade Journals
See eJournals in BU Libraries Search to find relevant newspapers, magazines, and other publications about nonprofits and the public sector. Selected publications include:
