Agencies, Associations & Organizations
- Energy Information Administration (EIA) Operated by the U.S. Department of Energy. Includes information on every branch of the industry and links to other energy industry web sites.
- Annual Energy Outlook Projections through 2035
- International Energy Outlook Outlook for International Energy Markets
- U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Information from the U.S. Government regarding its many agencies, bureaus and operations in energy. Includes Annual Energy Outlook, statistics, prices and trends.
- Biomass Research and Development Initiative (BRDI) See "Initiative" for multi-agency effort to coordinate and accelerate all federal bio-based products and bioenergy research and development.
- EERE Bioenergy Technologies Office A division of the U.S. Department of Energy. Provides information on biomass and biodiesel technology and helps to transform the nation's biomass resources into cost competitive fuels.
- Renewable Fuels Association (RFA) Trade organization representing the ethanol industry. Publishes useful information including a listing of biorefineries and monthly U.S. fuel ethanol production and demand.
- Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) Promotes energy efficiency worldwide to achieve a healthier economy, cleaner environment and energy security. See Topics in top tool bar, for information on different aspects of energy efficiency.
- American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) Dedicated to advancing energy-efficiancy as a means of promoting both economic prosperity and environmental protection. See consumer resources for stats on home energy savings, job calculator, and links.
- EERE Hydrogen, Fuel Cells & Infrastructure Technology Program Division of the US. Department of Energy, works to develop and successfully introduce fuel cell technologies to the global market.
- National Fuel Cell Research Center Promotes the development of efficient fuel cells and partnerships to advance fuel cell technology. University of California, Irvine.
- Smithsonian Fuel Cell Project A historical view of fuel cell technology.
- American Solar Energy Society Nation's leading association of solar professionals & grassroots advocates.
- American Wind Energy Association Promotes wind energy as a clean source of electricity worldwide.
- EERE Solar Energy Technologies Office Division of U.S. Department of Energy, works with industry participants, universities, federal and state government, and other non-governmental agencies to develop economically competitive photovoltaic materials.
- EERE Wind Energy Technologies Office A division of the U.S. Department of Energy, works with the U.S. wind industry to develop clean, domestic energy technologies.
- National Hydropower Association (NHA) National Trade association dedicated to representing interests of the hydropower industry.
Reports
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports This link opens in a new window (2018-present) International coverage of 22 industries and 35 commodities. Industry reports include: industry forecast, SWOT analysis, risk/reward indices, industry trends and top competitors. In-depth reports are released quarterly. For reports from before 2018, see Business Monitor International.
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window Frost & Sullivan reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy and manufacturing related fields. In-depth market research and strategy reports with an international scope. Includes the following industry sectors: healthcare; communication technologies; industrial automation and electronics; energy and power systems; aerospace and defense; environmental and building technologies. These reports can only be viewed in html format.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- Investext This link opens in a new window Investext (available through Mergent Online) provides research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Includes both current and historical reports
- MarketLine Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
- MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window Tracks the social, environmental and governance of corporations throughout the world.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Selected IEA publications:
Key World Energy Statistics
World Energy Outlook
Oil Market Report – Monthly, free to the public two weeks after release.
- Industry Survey Locator This link opens in a new window This database was developed and is maintained by Pardee Librarians to provide one stop shopping to individual US (and some global) industry surveys linked in our business databases. Databases include Hoover’s, IBISWorld, MarketLine, Mintel, S&P NetAdvantage, and Valueline. Does not include BMI, Frost & Sullivan, and Gartner reports.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
Statistics
- Bizstats.com Financial ratios, business statistics and benchmarks.
- Census DataAccess data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
