Industry Surveys
Get an overview of how an industry operates, the trends, and more. The most notable industry surveys are the S&P Industry Surveys through NetAdvantage.
Go to: the Industry Survey Locator - A database of industry surveys that appear in databases and other reference materials. A good first place to check for industry surveys and overviews.
Many Online Databases are included in the Locator:
- MarketLine Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry snapshots include statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
- Hoover's Industry Snapshots This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 600 industry snapshots from Hoovers Company and Industry Reports via Nexis Uni. The snapshots include the following industry information or links to relevant information: Description; Terminology; Associations & Organizations and Selected Resources.
The databases listed below are not available in the Industry Survey Locator, but will be very helpful for finding information on technology and healthcare industries:
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new windowFrost & Sullivan is a well known information technology research and advisory company. Frost & Sullivan reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy and manufacturing related fields. Please note that most reports can only be viewed in html form. If you would like access to a report in PDF format and you are unable to access it, please send an email to pardstf@bu.edu.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new window
Gartner, Inc. is a well-known information technology research and advisory company that provides insights to help clients make informed decisions related to information technology. Reports contain research findings and advice on technology markets, topics, and industries. Follow instructions at the BU IS&T site to register for an account to gain access.
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
(2018-present) International coverage of 22 industries and 35 commodities. Industry reports include: industry forecast, SWOT analysis, risk/reward indices, industry trends and top competitors. In-depth reports are released quarterly.
For reports from before 2018, see Business Monitor International.
Investment Reports
- Investext This link opens in a new window Investext (available through Mergent Online) provides research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses and consulting firms. Includes both current and historical reports
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window To access S&P Industry Surveys in NetAdvantage, click on "Industry Survey" on top toolbar. Surveys include current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Value Line This link opens in a new window To access Industry Report, select from "Industry Screens" drop down menu in center of page. Then click on "Industry Analysis" button on top right.
Market Research
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports This link opens in a new window (2018-present) International coverage of 22 industries and 35 commodities. Industry reports include: industry forecast, SWOT analysis, risk/reward indices, industry trends and top competitors. In-depth reports are released quarterly. For reports from before 2018, see Business Monitor International.
- Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window Frost & Sullivan reports cover technology and market trends in various technology, energy and manufacturing related fields. In-depth market research and strategy reports with an international scope. Includes the following industry sectors: healthcare; communication technologies; industrial automation and electronics; energy and power systems; aerospace and defense; environmental and building technologies. These reports can only be viewed in html format.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new window Gartner, Inc. is a well-known information technology research and advisory company that provides insights to help clients make informed decisions related to information technology. Reports contain research findings and advice on technology markets, topics, and industries. Follow instructions at the BU IS&T site to register for an account to gain access.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
Websites
- McKinsey & CompanySee both the Industries and Featured Insights sections.
