Skip to Main Content
Find Images
Cities/Buildings Database
The Cities/Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
Cities Around the World
Cities Around the World presents over 6,100 photographic images from the slide collections of the American Geographical Society Library. The images selected for this project focus on architecture, city life, people, transportation and other aspects of urban development, such as neighborhoods, commercial streets, and business districts.
Panoramic Photographs, Library of Congress
The Panoramic Photograph Collection contains approximately four thousand images featuring American cityscapes, landscapes, and group portraits. These panoramas offer an overview of the nation, its enterprises and its interests, with a focus on the start of the twentieth century when the panoramic photo format was at the height of its popularity.
WorldImages
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Historic Architecture & Landscape Image Collection
Consisting of approximately 11,000 images that document the architecture, landscape and urban planning of sites across the United States—with a particular emphasis on Chicago and its suburbs—and, to a lesser extent, internationally,
Find Maps
United States Historical City Maps
Maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library
Map Collection, University of Texas, Austin.
Library of Congress, Panoramic Maps
The panoramic map was a popular cartographic form used to depict U.S. and Canadian cities and towns during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Known also as bird's-eye views, perspective maps, and aero views, panoramic maps are nonphotographic representations of cities portrayed as if viewed from above at an oblique angle.
Library of Congress, Sanborn Maps
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from our collection and will be updated as new images are added.
Library of Congress, Cities and Towns
This category includes maps that depict individual buildings to panoramic views of large urban areas. These maps record the evolution of cities illustrating the development and nature of economic activities, educational and religious facilities, parks, street patterns and widths, and transportation systems.
Library of Congress, Railroad Maps
Contains 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Digitization of the collection began in 1996 and there are now over 79,000 items online.
Historical Urban Atlases of Boston: Boston Public LIbrary
This link will bring you to a research guide created by Boston Public Library that is full of information on different historical Boston atlases including; Pinney Atlas, Hopkins Atlas, Beers Atlas, Bromley Atlas, and the Sanborn Atlas.
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center, Boston Public Library
The Boston Public Library is home to the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center which houses a unique collections of maps including; American Revolutionary War area maps, European Age of Discoveries maps, Colonial New England and Colonial Boston maps, Nautical charts from the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, maps and atlases from the 16th to 18th century, 19th century county and town land ownership maps, various editions of some of the earliest printed maps, and MORE!
