Skip to Main Content
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Deadly Persuasion: The Advertising of Alcohol and Tobacco (streaming, Kanopy)
In Deadly Persuasion: The Advertising of Alcohol & Tobacco, Jean Kilbourne exposes the manipulative marketing strategies and tactics used by the tobacco and alcohol industries to keep Americans hooked on their dangerous products. Illustrating her analysis with hundreds of current advertising examples from mainstream and trade sources, Kilbourne presents a compelling argument that these cynical industries have a clear and deep understanding of the psychology of addiction and an understanding they exploit to create and feed a life-threatening dependency on their products.
Big Tobacco, Young Targets (streaming, Academic Video Online)
In the 21st century, tobacco will continue to kill 8 million people each year. Tobacco companies have used every trick in the book to sell their deadly product; corruption, ignoring or omitting scientific or medical data, mass manipulation, political influence...
Horizon. Smokers can harm your health (streaming, Academic Video Online)
The dangers of tobacco have been known for years, but now it seems that even non-smokers are at risk. A controversial report from the USA states that 3,800 Americans die every year from lung cancer caused by inhaling other people's smoke. In Australia, the debate over passive smoking is being fought out in court.
Films on Tobacco, Prelinger Archives
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films.
The Big Lie (streaming, Academic Video Online)
When the hired guns of British American Tobacco came to Australia to appeal a decision in favour of a terminally-ill wife and mother, they didn't stop once they had the award overturned. They then set out to pursue the family of Rolah McCabe in order to cover their own legal costs in the case. Combining tense legal action with the highly-charged emotional fallout that is the legacy of those who put themselves in the sights of Big Tobacco, The Big Lie is an eloquent essay in deceit and corporate thuggery and world-class documentary filmmaking at its very best.
Cigarette Smoking (streaming, Academic Video Online)
This documentary, produced by American Multimedia, is about smoking and tobacco use in adolescents.
Responsible corporations? The social cost of the cigarette business (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Multinational companies are aggressively marketing cigarettes to young people in developing countries, with tragic social costs. This film explores the case of Indonesia - the third largest market for tobacco products in the world.
60 minutes. Going smokeless (streaming, Academic Video Online)
As cigarette sales plunge, tobacco companies are marketing smokeless products to skirt smoking bans and keep customers. Lesley Stahl investigates the pros and cons.
E-Cigarettes: Miracle or Menace? (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Dr. Michael Mosley wants to uncover the truth about e-cigarettes. Are they a great medical breakthrough of the modern age, or just a new way of keeping us addicted to nicotine? Because of their rapid rise, science is scrabbling to keep up with their effects, and the experts are bitterly divided. Horizon carries out an experiment to find out whether e-cigarettes are effective at helping heavy smokers quit, and whether they have any impact on health. How does inhaling an e-cigarette compare to more traditional methods of quitting?
Smoking intention and progression from e-cigarette use to cigarette smoking (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Among adolescents who do not intend to smoke cigarettes in the future, using e-cigarettes is associated with a higher risk of cigarette smoking.
Adolescent use of different e-cigarette products (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Most adolescents use open system e-cigarettes, especially frequent users. This pattern of use suggests a starter product phenomenon with graduation to potentially more dangerous products.
Flavored e-cigarette use and progression of vaping in adolescents (streaming, Academic Video Online)
In this longitudinal cohort study of adolescents who vape, use of ecigarettes in non-traditional flavors predicted future vaping persistence and frequency.
Social aspects of hookah smoking among US youth (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Hookah smoking among youth is a public health concern, with deep socio-cultural roots. This study investigated the social aspects of hookah smoking among U.S. adolescents.
Pack of lies : the advertising of tobacco (streaming, Kanopy)
Jean Kilbourne and Rick Pollay - two of the world's leading experts on the marketing of tobacco products - examine how Big Tobacco has been able to harness the power of advertising to counter the influence of scientific research, shape news coverage, overcome public resistance, and maintain private profits at the expense of public health.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian