Skip to Main Content
Data & Statistical Sources
Tobacco Use Supplement, Current Population Survey
The Tobacco Use Supplement to the Current Population Survey (TUS-CPS) is an NCI-sponsored survey of tobacco use that has been administered as part of the U.S. Census Bureau's Current Population Survey approximately every 3-4 years since 1992-93.
NAHDAP: National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (ICPSR)
The mission of the National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program is to facilitate research on drug addiction and HIV infection by acquiring, enhancing, preserving, and sharing data produced by research grants, particularly those funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. The NAHDAP collection studies include alcohol, tobacco, ENDs, marijuana and opioids, HIV, epidemiological and observational studies, prevention research, and data across the lifespan.
International Smoking Statistics: a Collection of Historical Data from 30 Economically Developed Countries
International Smoking Statistics presents a valuable collection of smoking data relating to thirty countries—most of Europe, and also Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, USA, and the former USSR. Annual data on the national sales of all types of tobacco products are presented for the years up to 1995, with over 100 years of data available for some countries. Both manufactured and hand-rolled cigarettes are considered, as well as pipes and cigars, and smokeless tobacco products.
Public Opinion
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian
