Film Databases
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition contains a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and classroom exercises and activities.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Featured Resources
Webcasts at the Library of Congress
- Cuisine and Culture in the Arab World Author Amy Riolo discusses cuisine and culture in the Arab world. Speaker Biography: Amy Riolo is a cookbook author, food historian, culinary expert, lecturer, team building facilitator specializing in Mediterranean and Middle Eastern cuisine.
- Understanding Egyptian Cuisine & Culture In this lecture, Amy Riolo defines Egyptian cuisine, explains how the food is central to Egyptian culture, and talks about food throughout Egyptian history. Speaker Biography: Amy Riolo is an internationally recognized expert known for fusing the worlds of cuisine, culture and history in her work. An award-winning author, popular lecturer, food historian, food writer, culinary consultant and cooking instructor, she was dubbed the "Cook to the Kings" by a Cairo newspaper in 2008.
- Italy's Gastronomic Traditions Food historian Francine Segan discussed Italian cuisine.
- Italian Cuisine in the World Domenica Marchetti and Amy Riolo participate in a panel discussion on the history of Italian cuisine and culture worldwide.
- The Sultan's Kitchen: A History of Turkish Cuisine Sheilah Kaufman shares her great passion for richly flavored, no-fuss food in this presentation on the history of Turkish cooking. Speaker Biography: Sheilah Kaufman is a traveling cooking instructor, food writer and author of 26 cookbooks, including "A Taste of Turkish Cuisine" and "The Turkish Cookbook. "
- The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food Who writes those little messages in fortune cookies and how do fortune cookie makers get their lucky numbers? For that matter, where did fortune cookies originate - should the U.S., China or Japan claim credit? Did General Tso cook his own chicken, and why was there a lawsuit over who invented chop suey? If our benchmark for Americanness is apple pie, why do so many Americans eat Chinese food far more often than they eat apple pie? The answers to these and other fascinating questions was explored by Jennifer 8. Lee (her middle name connotes "prosperity" in Chinese), as she discussed her recent book "The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food."
- Man, Food & Fire: The Evolution of Barbecue Award-winning cookbook author and "master griller" Steven Raichlen will lecture at the Library of Congress on the history of barbecue, from the discovery of live-fire cooking nearly 2 million years ago to the invention of the charcoal briquette, gas grills and modern barbecue restaurants. Speaker Biography: The host of "Primal Grill" on PBS, Raichlen is the author of 28 cookbooks, including "The Barbecue Bible" and "BBQ USA." He has won five James Beard Awards for his cookbooks.
- Somali Food Traditions at Thanksgiving Barlin Ali, author of "Somali Cuisine," presented a lecture on "Somali Food Traditions at Thanksgiving" in a program sponsored by the Library's African and Middle Eastern Division and the Library of Congress Cooking Club.
