Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Handbook of Food and Anthropology This is the first handbook to provide a detailed overview of all major areas of the field.Twenty original essays by leading figures in the discipline examine traditional areas of research as well as cutting-edge areas of inquiry. Divided into three parts - Food, Self and Others; Food Security, Nutrition and Food Safety; Food as Craft, Industry and Ethics.
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization This multicultural and interdisciplinary reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times. Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement.
- A Cultural History of Food A Cultural History of Food presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of food and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions.
- Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
- Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia Ethnic American Food Today introduces readers to the myriad ethnic food cultures in the U.S. today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today. Many of the entries draw upon ethnographic research and personal experience, giving insights into the meanings of various ethnic food traditions as well as into what, how, and why people of different ethnicities are actually eating today.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd. ed) Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of food and drink. Professor of Culinary History Andrew Smith and nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.
- Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook In every land, various traditions, customs, and legends have developed around food. And because these diverse traditions are central to the multicultural character of the United States, ethnic foodlore permeates American society. From early Native American cultures to the modern influx of Asian and Middle Eastern immigrants, this book is an accessible introduction to foodlore and foodways.
- World Food Habits: English-Language Resources for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition Bibliography, now archived in the Internet Archive.
- They Eat That? A Cultural Encyclopedia of Weird and Exotic Food from Around the World This fun encyclopedia, organized A-Z, describes and offers cultural context for foodstuffs people eat today that might be described as "weird"--at least to the American palate.
- The Oxford Companion to Food Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage
- From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" diseases.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
- Encyclopedia of Taboos The "Encyclopedia of Taboos" is a mine of unusual information from around the world, including a comprehensive analysis of individual taboos from the ancient world to the present day, covering both well- and lesser-known examples.
- The Routledge History of American Foodways The Routledge History of American Foodways provides an important overview of the main themes surrounding the history of food in the Americas from the pre-colonial era to the present day. By broadly incorporating the latest food studies research, the book explores the major advances that have taken place in the past few decades in this crucial field.
- North American Armenians in eHRAF World Cultures Cultural summary and links to full-text sources.
- Chinese Americans, in eHRAF World Cultures Cultural profile and links to full-text sources
- Italian Americans, in eHRAF World Cultures Cultural profile and links to full-text sources
