Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA)The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA) is
a growing open-access teaching and learning resource.
Its goal is to facilitate access to scholarship in
Social Anthropology for experts and non-experts worldwide.
All entries are written and peer-reviewed by leading academics.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural AnthropologyThe Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology, now in its second edition, maintains a strong benchmark for understanding the scope of contemporary anthropological field methods
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyWritten by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
The International Encyclopedia of AnthropologyThe International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education,
kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world’s most influential founding anthropologists. Organized alphabetically and written for both the specialist and the general reader, the Encyclopedia is a landmark reference resource for students and scholars engaged within the broad and dynamic field of anthropology, and those studying and working within the related disciplines of psychology, medicine, religious studies, and sociology.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture and Social Life. 1994.This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. The principal rationale behind the Encyclopedia is to overcome the division and fragmentation within the approaches of the humanities and natural sciences to anthropology. It emphasizes interconnections between perspectives and sub-disciplines, producing a complete perspective on what it means to be human.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research MethodsThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. It targets a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural AnthropologyThe Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms a student of anthropology or general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics and geography.
The Dictionary of AnthropologyThe Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
21st Century Anthropology : a Reference HandbookVia 100 entries or 'mini-chapters,' the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Anthropology will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Handbook of EthnographyFocusing on the pursuit of quality in social research, the authors: explore different ways of collecting and analyzing data; introduce the main analytical approaches for text, image and sound; cover computer-based analysis; and address problems in interpretation and quality criteria for qualitative research.
Peoples of the World
Countries and their CulturesPresents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Encyclopedia of the World's MinoritiesThis study of minorities involves the difficult issues of rights, justice, equality, dignity, identity, autonomy, political liberties, and cultural freedoms. The A-Z Encyclopedia presents the facts, arguments, and areas of contention in over 560 entries in a clear, objective manner.
Encyclopedia of European PeoplesEncyclopedia of European Peoples is an A-to-Z reference to the peoples of Europe, from ancient to modern times, summarizing their origin, language, history, culture, and relationship to other peoples. This encyclopedia includes entries on all peoples that have at one time maintained a cultural identity. Thus, the reader will be able to find entries on the Gauls and Normans, but also an entry on the "French: nationality," that describes who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.
Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian MassifThis book offers hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on about 200 groups, the six countries they live in, some of their leaders, and their political, economic, social, cultural and religious aspects. The chronology covers important events. The introduction discusses both the diversities and similarities of the groups' ethnicities, languages, religious practices, and customs.
Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific : an EncyclopediaThis comprehensive guide to the Pacific and South Asia provides detailed and enlightening information about the many ethnic groups of this increasingly important region of the world. It provides clear, detailed, and up-to-date information on each major group in South Asian and Pacific Island countries, including India, Nepal, Indonesia, Pakistan, Singapore, Australia, Tonga, Samoa, and the Solomon Islands.
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureA three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture, and EnvironmentD-PLACE, or the Database of Places, Language, Culture, and Environment, is an attempt to bring together the dispersed corpus of information describing human cultural diversity. It aims to make it easy for individuals to contrast their own cultural practices with those of other societies, and to consider the factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.
Encyclopedia of TaboosWhat are the origins of table manners? What are the politics of cannibalism? Why is the left hand thought to be sinister? These apparently unrelated questions all hinge on the fundamental notion of taboo. Far from being peripheral leftovers from distant times and places, taboos are a crucial part of any society, determining how people must and must not behave. The Encyclopedia of Taboos is a mine of unusual information from around the world, including a comprehensive analysis of individual taboos from the ancient world to the present day, covering both well- and lesser-known examples.
Berg Fashion LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
Shamanism : an Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and CultureThis two-volume reference is the first international survey of shamanistic beliefs from prehistory to the present day. In nearly 200 detailed, readable entries, leading ethnographers, psychologists, archaeologists, historians, and scholars of religion and folk literature explain the general principles of shamanism as well as the details of widely varied practices.
Hunter-gatherer Religion Database (HGRD)The Hunter-gatherer Religion Database (HGRD) documents the early religious systems of 84 hunter-gatherer societies from around the world. This database is built from historic ethnographic source materials and contains quantitative variables on a range of supernatural beliefs and practices, as well as qualitative notes and references. Wherever possible, the focus is on how societies were before conversion to major world religions and prior to substantial shifts towards sedentary means of subsistence.
Aggression and Conflict : a Cross-cultural EncyclopediaDiscusses many forms of aggression, including aggression by women, banditry, blood money, cannibalism, capital punishment, cruelty to animals, duels, ethnocide, foot-binding, genital mutilation, gerontocide, head-hunting, human sacrifice, initiation rites, rape, sibling fighting, song duels, suicide, and wars.
Linguistic Anthropology and Anthropological Linguistics
The Routledge Handbook of Linguistic AnthropologyThe Routledge Handbook of Linguistic Anthropology is a broad survey of linguistic anthropology, featuring contributions from prominent scholars in the field. Each chapter presents a brief historical summary of research in the field and discusses topics and issues of current concern to people doing research in linguistic anthropology.
Languages of hunter-gatherers and their neighborsThis database houses lexical, grammatical, and other data from languages spoken by hunter-gatherer groups and their small-scale agrarian neighbors. It is designed to facilitate the exploration of these data and to aid in phylogenetic research regarding the languages under investigation. At present, the languages targeted are predominantly from three major world regions: northwestern Australia, northern Amazonia, and California and the Great Basin.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural AnthropologySpanning the period from the late nineteenth to the early twenty-first centuries, The Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology contains almost six hundred individually-signed entries from a global team of contributors and offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.
Women Anthropologists : a Biographical Dictionary"Anthropology was a middle-class enterprise; perhaps that explains why in the 58 entries, only one subject is a Native American and four are Afro-American. The list is predominantly American and includes both widely known and less known anthropologists."
Yearbooks and Review Literature
Annual Review of AnthropologyThe Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.