Find Books
-
Emerging Adulthood
by
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2023Key points for each chapter will help readers reference the most salient takeaways as they gain a deepened understanding of the interface of culture and society, family, development, and individual psychology during these dynamic life phases. -
The handbook on child welfare practice
by
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2021This book will help develop a more knowledgeable and skilled child welfare workforce prepared to address the significant public health concern of child maltreatment. -
Errors and Mistakes in Child Protection
by
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020This comprehensive international study provides a cross-national analysis of different understandings of errors and mistakes, as well as lessons to avoid and how to handle them in child protection practice, using research and knowledge from 11 countries. -
Developing Advocacy for Children and Young People
by
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2008Advocacy for vulnerable people is increasingly becoming a part of health and social care practice, and over the past decade policy developments have contributed to a rapid development of advocacy services for children and young people. -
The Promise of Adolescence
by
Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2019This report examines the neurobiological and socio-behavioral science of adolescent development and outlines how this knowledge can be applied, both to promote adolescent well-being, resilience, and development, and to rectify structural barriers and inequalities in opportunity, enabling all adolescents to flourish.
Find Databases
- Child Welfare Enacted Legislation: Search 2012-2019 enacted child welfare legislation in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico by state, topic, keyword, status and/or primary author.
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies: Books, chapters, journal articles, and dissertations concerning growth and development of children through age 21.
- Records of the Children's Bureau (1912-1969): Reports, speeches, correspondence, and more relating to the Children's Bureau, the first federal agency dedicated to protecting the well-being of children and families.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections: Many peer-reviewed articles, data sets, books and reports including Head Start Family and Child Experiences Survey and Early Childhood Longitudal Survey.
Find Newspaper Articles
Connection to all BU Libraries newspaper content is available here. Some recommended places to search newspaper content is:
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993)
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present)
- Best live news, sports, opinion and entertainment in New England by Globe journalists. Includes today's coverage.
- New York Times (1851 - 2020)
- Search historical content with research-friendly search options.
- New York Times
- Current BU students, faculty, and staff may access the New York Times online. Our subscription includes news articles from 1851 to today’s front page. Directions for activating your BU log-in are available online here.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers
- Access World News
- PressReader
- Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language.
- Nexis Uni
- World news publications including newspapers and magazines, trade journals, newswires, transcripts, press releases and blogs. Emphasis on legal decisions, company information, economic climates, and country news.
